Ireland news July 30, 2010

Trent Johnston to captain Ireland for Intercontinental Cup

Cricinfo staff

Trent Johnston will captain the Ireland squad for the Intercontinental Cup and the RSA Series one-day internationals against The Netherlands in August. He will be standing in for William Porterfield, who is unavailable due to county commitments with Gloustershire.

Ireland will also be without opening bowler Boyd Rankin, who will be on duty for Warwickshire, and wicketkeeper Niall O'Brien, who underwent surgery on his damaged finger last week and is expected to be out of action for about two months.

Gary Wilson, who top scored for Ireland in their last ODI against Bangladesh, will don the gloves in place of O'Brien.

Ireland Squad: Trent Johnston (capt), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, James Hall, John Mooney, Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Albert van der Merwe, Andrew White, Gary Wilson (wk), Craig Young, Nigel Jones (ODI's only)