Colin Griffiths      

Full name Colin Griffiths

Born December 9, 1930, Upminster, Essex

Died September 14, 2004, Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire (aged 73 years 280 days)

Major teams Essex

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 27 41 3 615 105 16.18 1 1 4 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
First-class 27 18 22 0 - - - 7.33 - 0 0 0
Career statistics
First-class span 1951 - 1953
Profile

Colin Griffiths was a carefree amateur batsman for Essex in the early 1950s. At Tunbridge Wells in June 1952, he went in at No. 9 and hit the fastest century of the summer, celebrating by flying out to Paris for a Sunday with his girlfriend. A week later, still at No. 9, he scored 89 against Middlesex and was promised a turn up the order. Alas, batting at No. 7 in the second innings he pulled a back muscle hitting a six. With Essex short of reserves, he struggled in agony through the next match at Old Trafford, then he was lost to the family demolition business. Apart from a brief return the next summer, his cricket was limited to occasional club games in the London area - though at Wimbledon they still talk of the day when he repeatedly hit Gamini Goonesena out of the ground. Always a free spirit, he took up mountaineering and scuba diving. He was chairman of the Cricketers' Club of London.
Stephen Chalke, The Wisden Cricketer

Country Fixtures Country Results
Hampshire v Middlesex at Southampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Kent v Glamorgan at Canterbury
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 2: Lancashire Women v Ire. Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 19:18 EDT | 18:18 CDT | 16:18 PDT)
Division 3: Norfolk Wmn v Scot Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (10:00 GMT | 19:18 EDT | 18:18 CDT | 16:18 PDT)
Northants v Derbyshire at Northampton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Notts v Yorkshire at Nottingham
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Somerset v Lancashire at Taunton
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Surrey v Durham at The Oval
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Sussex v Leics at Hove
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Worcs v Essex at Worcester
May 1-4, 2016 (11:00 local | 10:00 GMT | 06:00 EDT | 05:00 CDT | 03:00 PDT)
Division 3: Northants Wm v Neth Women in England (venue TBA)
May 1, 2016 (11:00 GMT | 19:18 EDT | 18:18 CDT | 16:18 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days