Charles Kortright      

Full name Charles Jesse Kortright

Born January 9, 1871, Furze Hall, Fryerning, Ingatestone, Essex

Died December 12, 1952, Brookstreet, South Weald, Essex (aged 81 years 338 days)

Major teams Essex

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm fast

Charles Jesse Kortright
Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 Ct St
First-class 170 271 21 4404 131 17.61 2 11 176 0
Bowling averages
Mat Balls Runs Wkts BBI Ave Econ SR 5w 10
First-class 170 18225 10294 489 8/57 21.05 3.38 37.2 39 8
Career statistics
First-class span 1893 - 1907

Wisden Obituary
Charles Jesse Kortright, the old Essex cricketer and probably the fastest bowler in the history of the game, died at his Brentwood home on December 12, 1952 aged 81. He played county cricket from 1889 to 1907 and was contemporary with such other noted fast bowlers as Knox and Richardson of Surrey and Brearley and Mold of Lancashire. Kortright who also played for Free Foresters never appeared in a Test Match, but he accomplished many fine feats and William Gunn, the famous Nottinghamshire batsman, said after Kortright had bowled him in a Gentlemen v. Players match at Lord's that the ball which beat him was a yard faster than any he had ever played against. The late Sir Stanley Jackson in an article in the 1944 edition of Wisden on The Best Fast Bowler wrote, "Kortright was generally regarded as the fastest bowler of his time in this country. Not only was he a very fast bowler, but also a very good one."

  • Read More
Latest Articles
Latest Photos


Charles Kortright

Charles Kortright

© The Cricketer International


Charles Kortright

Charles Kortright

© Getty Images

Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd T20I: England v Pakistan at Dubai (DSC)
Nov 27, 2015 (20:00 local | 16:00 GMT | 11:00 EST | 10:00 CST | 08:00 PST)
3rd T20I: England v Pakistan at Sharjah
Nov 30, 2015 (20:00 local | 16:00 GMT | 11:00 EST | 10:00 CST | 08:00 PST)
Eng Lions v TBA at ICCA Dubai
Dec 4, 2015
1st unofficial T20I: Eng Lions v Pakistan A at ICCA Dubai
Dec 7, 2015
2nd unofficial T20I: Eng Lions v Pakistan A at ICCA Dubai
Dec 10, 2015
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days