Queensland v Tasmania, Matador One-Day Cup, Sydney October 18, 2014

Khawaja, Hartley chase down 399

Queensland 3 for 402 (Khawaja 166, Hartley 142) beat Tasmania 1 for 398 (Dunk 229*, Paine 125) by seven wickets

Eight-hundred runs were heaped for the loss of four wickets and the double-centurion Ben Dunk finished on the losing side as Queensland knocked Tasmania out of the domestic limited-overs tournament in an affair of gluttonous batting at North Sydney Oval.

The ground's short boundaries combined with a pristine pitch and sunny day to create the perfect environment for run-making, leaving the bowlers with a thankless task. The Bulls captain James Hopes returned 10-0-38-0, the only figures not to cost at least seven per over. A more typical analysis was the 1 for 101 collected by Peter George.

Tasmania's 1 for 398, built on an Australia domestic record opening stand of 277 between Dunk and Tim Paine, was swiftly made to look inadequate by Usman Khawaja and Chris Hartley, who added an even faster 280 to break the newly minted mark.

Dunk's 229 usurped David Warner's 197 on the same ground in last year's elimination final as the highest score ever made in an Australian domestic one-day match. It was also the third highest List A score of all time, bettered only by Ali Brown and Shikhar Dhawan.

Dunk and Paine began circumspectly, reaching 0 for 78 after the first 20 overs before tucking into the Bulls' bowlers. Tasmania piled on 140 from the final 10 overs of their innings, but were soon wondering if 398 would be enough as Khawaja and Hartley scored almost at will.

The Bulls never really seemed in danger of falling behind, and Khawaja was on course to fly past Dunk's tally when he was bowled by Evan Gulbis for 166. Hartley, a little more circumspect, endured until fewer than 60 runs were required, a task completed by Joe Burns, Nathan Reardon and Peter Forrest with the luxury of 16 balls to spare.

Tasmania's tournament has included a loss when bowled out for 62 by Western Australia on a lively Brisbane morning, and another when defending 398 in vastly different conditions. Their elimination means the competition will be won by one of Western Australia, New South Wales or Queensland.

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig