Jim Pothecary      

Full name James Edward Pothecary

Born December 6, 1933, Cape Town, Cape Province

Current age 81 years 114 days

Major teams South Africa, Western Province

Batting style Right-hand bat

Bowling style Right-arm medium

Batting and fielding averages
Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 6s Ct St
Tests 3 4 0 26 12 6.50 0 0 0 2 0
First-class 54 77 11 1039 81* 15.74 0 2 42 0
Bowling averages
Mat Inns Balls Runs Wkts BBI BBM Ave Econ SR 4w 5w 10
Tests 3 6 828 354 9 4/58 5/146 39.33 2.56 92.0 1 0 0
First-class 54 10329 4054 143 5/29 28.34 2.35 72.2 2 0
Career statistics
Test debut England v South Africa at Nottingham, Jul 7-11, 1960 scorecard
Last Test England v South Africa at The Oval, Aug 18-23, 1960 scorecard
Test statistics
First-class span 1954/55 - 1964/65
Profile

Jim Pothecary was a well-built right-arm fast-medium bowler who could swing the ball either way. He toured England as a new-ball bowler in 1960 but disappointed, taking nine wickets in his three Tests after Geoff Griffin had been no-balled out of the series. On the tour as a whole he managed only 53 wickets.
Wisden Cricinfo staff

Country Fixtures Country Results
TBA v Sth Africans at Fatullah
Jul 3, 2015 (21:56 EDT -1d | 20:56 CDT -1d | 18:56 PDT -1d)
1st T20I: Bangladesh v South Africa at Dhaka
Jul 5, 2015 (21:56 EDT -1d | 20:56 CDT -1d | 18:56 PDT -1d)
2nd T20I: Bangladesh v South Africa at Dhaka
Jul 7, 2015 (21:56 EDT -1d | 20:56 CDT -1d | 18:56 PDT -1d)
1st ODI: Bangladesh v South Africa at Dhaka
Jul 10, 2015 (21:56 EDT -1d | 20:56 CDT -1d | 18:56 PDT -1d)
2nd ODI: Bangladesh v South Africa at Dhaka
Jul 12, 2015 (21:56 EDT -1d | 20:56 CDT -1d | 18:56 PDT -1d)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days