England v Bangladesh, NatWest Series, The Oval June 16, 2005

Lewis makes the breakthrough for England

Bangladesh 31 for 2 (Nafees 12*, Tushar 3*) v England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Jon Lewis vowed earlier this week that he would not be having a haircut until the dream start to his England career came to an end, and on today's showing, he will soon be sporting a mullet to rival Jason Gillespie's. He grabbed two wickets in consecutive deliveries, to add to his four-wicket haul in Monday night's Twenty20, as Bangladesh stuttered to 31 for 2 in seven overs at The Oval.

For the third time in three matches against Bangladesh, Michael Vaughan won the toss and chose to bowl first, as England set out to maintain their disciplines after their thrilling success against Australia. In an identical scenario to the Test matches, Vaughan had no compunction about throwing his full bowling weight against the Bangladeshis, and under overcast skies, both Lewis and Darren Gough obtained some tricky seam movement.

At first the Bangladeshis resisted manfully, and Javed Omar, their star of the Test series, carved Gough through point for four. But he soon spoiled his start with a careless flick across the line to give Lewis the plumpest of lbws, and off the very next ball, Mohammad Ashraful fenced a low edge to Andrew Flintoff at second slip. Nafees Iqbal kept out the hat-trick yorker, and soon afterwards play was halted by a brief shower.

Bangladesh do come into the match with some form after finally beating an English side - Worcestershire - on Sunday, although they have made several changes to that team; among them, Nafees replaces Shahriar Nafees, while in the keeping slot Khaled Mashud comes in for Rajin Saleh.

England 1 Marcus Trescothick, 2 Andrew Strauss, 3 Michael Vaughan (capt), 4 Paul Collingwood, 5 Andrew Flintoff, 6 Kevin Pietersen, 7 Geraint Jones (wk), 8 Vikram Solanki, 9 Jon Lewis, 10 Darren Gough, 11 Steve Harmison.

Bangladesh 1 Javed Omar, 2 Nafees Iqbal, 3 Mohammad Ashraful, 4 Habibul Bashar (capt), 5 Aftab Ahmed, 6 Khaled Mashud (wk), 7 Khaled Mahmud, 8 Mohammad Rafique, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza, 10 Tushar Imran, 11 Nazmul Hossain.

Andrew Miller is UK editor of Cricinfo