India in New Zealand 2013-14 January 15, 2014

Munro out of New Zealand ODI squad

ESPNcricinfo staff

New Zealand have made just one change to their ODI squad for the series against India, with batsman Colin Munro missing out. Fast bowler Tim Southee, who had missed the first half of the ODI series against West Indies with a toe injury but recovered for the latter part, comes into the 13 in Munro's place.

Bruce Edgar, New Zealand's general manager national selection, said the squad had been retained as a reward for its strong showing against West Indies in the preceding series. "It was pleasing to see every player stand up at some stage of that series," Edgar said. "There were some simply outstanding efforts headlined by Corey Anderson's world-record one-day ton."

New Zealand had squared the West Indies ODIs 2-2. In the third ODI, Anderson had hit a hundred in 36 balls, breaking Shahid Afridi's long-standing record for the fastest ODI century. In the same match, Jesse Ryder scored the sixth-fastest ton.

Munro did not play any of the ODIs in that series, and has been more of a Twenty20 specialist for New Zealand. He is involved in the ongoing Twenty20 series against West Indies.

Coach Mike Hesson said India pose a particularly difficult challenge in one-day cricket, so this series provides his team with the perfect opportunity to proves itself. "We know we'll have to play out of our skins, and outmatch them player for player to be competitive against such a powerful side," Hesson said. "But we showed against the West Indies that we can play extremely well on our day and are capable of beating any side.

"Matching yourself against the best in the world is what you play international cricket for and I know the guys are buzzing about this opportunity. It's also an important part of our build-up for next year's World Cup where India are the defending champions."

New Zealand are scheduled to host India for five ODIs, starting on January 19 in Napier. The series will be followed by two Tests.

Squad: Brendon McCullum (capt), Corey Anderson, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi (wk), Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson