May 3, 2001

Shelley Fruin takes major Auckland award

Auckland Hearts opener Shelley Fruin, of the Grafton United club, was last night awarded the RT Cup as the Auckland Cricket Association's Women's Club Player of the Year during the Crown Relocations Awards night for Auckland Cricket.

Fruin also took home the Don Coleman Cup for the most meritorious batting performance at any level of Auckland Cricket.

That was in recognition of her brilliant innings of 97 during the State Auckland Hearts victory over Canterbury in the final of the State Insurance Cup in February.

It is the second time a woman cricketer has been a recipient of this award. CLEAR White Ferns captain Emily Drumm won it in 1994/95.

Aaron Barnes was awarded the Auckland Cricket Association Trophy for the most runs in Men's Premier Grade.

The State Auckland Aces representative scored 949 runs at an average 47.45 helping his Cornwall side to win the Crown Relocations Premier Men's One Day Championship.

East Coast Bays and State Auckland Aces player Mark Haslam won the Platypus Trophy for the most wickets in Men's Premier Grade. With best bowling performances of 7-34 and 7-62, Haslam finished with 51 wickets at an average of 13.41.

The newly established Ken Deas Memorial Trophy for the Men's Premier Grade Rookie Player of the Year went to Suburbs New Lynn's Michael Bates.

At 17 years of age, the left arm quick bowler has a promising future having already represented the Auckland Under-17 and Under-19 XI's at the respective National Tournaments.

The Carson Cup for Outstanding Contribution to Auckland Cricket was awarded to Nick Craig of the Howick Pakuranga club, in recognition of his contribution to club and representative cricket.

Other major award winners on the night were:

Best Novice Umpire, Peter Gasston; Best Women's First Year/First Grade Player, Catherine Bristow (Parnell); Most Improved Women's First Grade Player, Ingrid Cronin-Knight (University); Most Promising Women's Player, Catherine Bristow (Parnell), Most Improved Men's Player, Bradley Nielsen (Howick Pakuranga).