New Zealand also recall Martin February 4, 2008

Two debutantes in White Ferns' squad

Cricinfo staff

New Zealand have announced two new players for their forthcoming series against England and Australia. Ingrid Cronin-Knight and Lucy Doolan will make their debuts, while there was a recall after five years for Katey Martin, who has played three ODIs and a Test. She last played aged 18, and turns 23 on Thursday.

Suzie Bates is unavailable for the entire series through her basketball commitments: New Zealand have qualified for the Olympics, so she is waiting to hear if she is in the squad. Louise Milliken continues to recover from her knee reconstruction surgery, while Maria Fahey is also out with an illness.

Helen Watson is unavailable for the England series through work commitments - she has just started a new job after having to give the previous one up to go to England last year. Beth McNeill is undertaking a university course and so she can also only make one series, so she will face Australia as the two will have a direct swap, much like Holly Colvin, who couldn't make the New Zealand leg and arrived late for the Australia part, and Charlotte Russell.

As this is a building year ahead of the 2009 World Cup, the selectors have named three separate squads: one for England, one for Australia and an A side who will play a warm-up match against England and from whom the selectors could call on.

"Choosing three teams, including the A squad, gives us the opportunity to expose some new players to international cricket," said head coach Steve Jenkin. "It also allows selectors flexibility to make some changes between series, as a number of experienced players will miss either or both tours.

"Although we will miss those players, we are confident the other White Ferns have proven their talent in recent seasons, and that the new and recalled players will take the opportunity presented."

New Zealand squad for Australia series Haidee Tiffen (capt), Nicola Browne, Sarah Burke, Rachel Candy, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, Aimee Mason, Katey Martin, Rachel Priest, Amy Satterthwaite, Sarah Tsukigawa, Helen Watson.

New Zealand squad for England series Haidee Tiffen (capt), Nicola Browne, Sarah Burke, Rachel Candy, Ingrid Cronin-Knight, Sophie Devine, Ros Kember, Beth McNeill, Sara McGlashan, Aimee Mason, Katey Martin, Amy Satterthwaite, Sarah Tsukigawa.

New Zealand A squad Ingrid Cronin-Knight (capt), Kate Broadmore, Saskia Bullen, Abby Burrows, Lucy Doolan, Tamara Gould, Holly Huddleston, Prashilla Mistry, Megan Murphy, Katie Perkins, Rachel Priest, Sian Ruck, Megan Wakefield.