New Zealand announce 14-man list April 29, 2008

Hay in Emerging Players squad

Cricinfo staff

Bevan Griggs was the preferred wicketkeeper in the Emerging Players squad © Getty Images

Greg Hay is one of 14 first-class players who will represent New Zealand at the Emerging Players Tournament in Queensland in July. The side will be coached by Andy Moles, the former Warwickshire batsman who has coached Kenya, Scotland and England Under-19s.

Hay, the Central Districts batsman, missed out on the England tour despite averaging 49.33 in 15 first-class matches and 49.91 in one-day matches so far but this announcement will prove some consolation, as will his winter contract awarded on Monday. Neil Broom, Michael Guptill and BJ Watling have also been selected for the tournament and for a deal.

The wicketkeeper Bevan Griggs, 30, has been included ahead of Peter McGlashan, who played two Twenty20 internationals in 2006, and the rising star Derek de Boorder. New Zealand Under-19 players Corey Anderson and Trent Boult got the nod as well.

Nathan McCullum and Bradley Scott were left out, despite appearing in the tournament last year and receiving winter contracts. McCullum is playing club cricket in Europe, while Elliott is currently on tour with New Zealand in England.

The Emerging Players team will play against sides from South Africa and India alongside the Australia Institute of Sport. They will then have one three-day match, a 50-over match and a Twenty20 against a Queensland state XI.

"This is the fourth year of the tournament and it has become a key part of NZC's winter training programme," selector Glenn Turner said. "We have seen a number of players progress through to the Blackcaps after showing potential on such tours. The event also gives players competition experience and our teams have always performed well there."

Emerging Players squad Corey Anderson, Brent Arnel, Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Leighton Burtt, Brendon Diamanti, Bevan Griggs (wk), Martin Guptill, Greg Hay, Brandon Hiini, Peter Ingram, Robbie Schaw, BJ Watling.