New Zealand news

Martin bags Sir Richard Hadlee Medal

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 10, 2011

Comments: 5 | Text size: A | A

New Zealand Cricket Awards winners

  • Chris Martin - Sir Richard Hadlee Medal, player of the year
  • Brendon McCullum - Test Player of the Year (527 runs at 58.55)
  • Ross Taylor - ODI Player of the Year, (798 runs at 39.90)
  • Tim Southee - Twenty20 Player of the Year, (eight wickets at 12.12)
  • Sara McGlashan - Women's Player of the Year
  • Sophie Devine - Women's domestic Player of the year (Four fifties, 24 wickets)
  • Rob Nicol - Domestic Player of the year (top scorer in Twenty20 and one-day competitions)
  • Peter Ingram - Redpath Cup, best first-class batting (965 runs at 50.47)
  • Chris Martin - Winsor Cup, best first-class bowling (60 wickets at 25.60)
  • Neil Wagner - Fans' Choice for outstanding individual performance (Taking five wickets in an over)
  • Simon Hickey - Young player of the year
  • Ces Renwick - Bert Sutcliffe Medal, for outstanding services to cricket
  • Nick Craig - Sir Jack Newman Award, outstanding junior cricket administrator

Chris Martin, the New Zealand fast bowler, has become the first recipient of the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal, an honour given to the country's best player of the year. There was another gong for him at the New Zealand Cricket Awards in Auckland, winning the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling.

Martin, 36, was also a finalist for the Test player of the year and a nominee for Fans' Choice award for his devastating spell in Ahmedabad when he had India pinned at 15 for 5. He took 60 first-class wickets in the 2010-11 season, including 18 in Tests and 31 for Auckland.

"Chris works very hard and has strongly led the BLACKCAPS and Aces bowling attack for this past season and the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal is well deserved," NZC chief executive Justin Vaughan said.

"There were a number of individuals who put their hand up for the supreme award but no one can deny that in the past 12 months Chris has been a stand-out performer in international and domestic First-Class cricket."

The other major winners in the revamped NZC awards were: Brendon McCullum as Test Player of the year, in a season where he took the gamble of becoming a specialist batsman in Tests, and moved up the order; new captain Ross Taylor as ODI Player of the year, in a season where he was the highest run-getter for New Zealand with 798; Tim Southee as outstanding player in Twenty20s, in a year where he took a five-for including a hat-trick against Pakistan which won him the ICC award for Best Twenty20 performance; Sara McGlashan as women's Player of the Year.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by HawK89 on (November 11, 2011, 4:58 GMT)

Last time i checked, a fast bowler was 145km/s +, not mid 130s.

Posted by nzcricket174 on (November 10, 2011, 16:59 GMT)

woo go the phantom the man

Posted by Y2SJ on (November 10, 2011, 16:12 GMT)

Hope 'HE' gets more awards than his test runs

Posted by   on (November 10, 2011, 13:09 GMT)

If theres a medal for most ducks he's got that one sewn up too!!

Posted by Sachit1979 on (November 10, 2011, 11:34 GMT)

Long live Phantom. Great going, congrats. I wish you win Matrin Crowe medal too (if any) for batting. :-)

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Related Links
Players/Officials: Chris Martin
Teams: New Zealand
Country Fixtures Country Results
3rd Test: New Zealand v Pakistan at Sharjah - Nov 26-Dec 1
Pakistan 285/3
Central D v Otago at Napier
Nov 28, 2014 (19:10 local | 06:10 GMT | 01:10 EST | 00:10 CST | 22:10 PST)
Auckland v Canterbury at Napier
Nov 29, 2014 (15:50 local | 02:50 GMT | 21:50 EST | 20:50 CST | 18:50 PST)
Central D v Northern D at Napier
Nov 29, 2014 (19:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST)
Ireland v NZ A at Dubai (CA)
Nov 29, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days