New Zealand news

New Zealand announces domestic contracts for 2013-14

ESPNcricinfo staff

July 26, 2013

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

New Zealand's six major domestic associations have announced their list of first-round contracts for the 2013-14 season. Former New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori, who turned down the national contract due to uncertainty over his recovery from surgery on his Achilles tendon, wasn't included in the list for Northern Knights.

Each association can offer 9-13 contracts at their discretion in the first round and can expand it to 14 players in the second round of contracts that will be offered on August 9 this year.

The contracts offered today will commence on October 1, 2013.

Auckland Aces: Dean Bartlett, Michael Bates, Craig Cachopa, Lockie Ferguson, Tipene Friday, Colin de Grandhomme, Donovan Grobbelaar, Gareth Hopkins, Anaru Kitchen, Tim McIntosh, Matt Quinn, Jeet Raval, Bhupinder Singh

Canterbury Wizards: Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Brad Cachopa, Andrew Ellis, Matthey Henry, Roneel Hira, Ryan McCone, Matthew McEwan, Henry Nicholls, Rob Nicol, Shanan Stewart, Logan van Beek, George Worker

Central Stags: Carl Cachopa, Greg Hay, Jamie How, Adam Milne, Andrew Mathieson, Tarun Nethula, Kieran Noema-Barnett, Dean Robinson, Bevan Small, Ben Smith, Kruger van Wyk, Ben Wheeler, William Young

Northern Knights: Graeme Aldridge, Jono Boult, Anton Devcich, Cameron Fletcher, Daniel Flynn, Jono Hickey, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Ish Sodhi, Anurag Verma, Brad Wilson

Otago Volts: Nick Beard, Michael Bracewell, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Mark Craig, Derek De Boorder, Jacob Duffy, James McMillan, James Neesham, Aaron Redmond, Iain Robertson, Jesse Ryder, Sam Wells

Wellington Firebirds: Brent Arnel, Josh Brodie, James Franklin, Mark Gillespie, Andy McKay, Stephen Murdoch, Michael Papps, Jeetan Patel, Michael Pollard, Luke Ronchi, Ili Tugaga, Henry Walsh, Luke Woodcock

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by kmister12 on (July 26, 2013, 17:25 GMT)

Good for Auckland getting Jeet Raval back. Good young side from Northern but I still feel Auckland has a better side because of experience factor, although losing Cam Fletcher's great keeping and the veteran Chirs Martin will be a big blow.

Posted by 512fm on (July 26, 2013, 13:32 GMT)

@ kiwicricketnut: Couldn't agree more on the Firebirds mate, being from Wellington I'm appalled at what the team has become. I could not believe we signed Arnel, just adds to the list of old has beens while we let a lot of the young talent walk away - Friday, Boam, Kuggeleijn and the massive loss of Ryder.

Posted by kiwicricketnut on (July 26, 2013, 11:13 GMT)

being a central stags fan, i like the look of their squad although greg hay was a shock selection but is pretty solid and wasn't far off black caps seletion a few years ago, be interested to see if he still has it in him. milne small and wheeler should be the best pace attack in the country, they're just never all fit. northen knights look the team to beat though, its unbelievable how much talent they produce. once again wellington look like a team full of washed up semi retired cricketers, very average indeed, predicting more misery for them, they lost their most talented prospect in boam and have no stars. the others have predictable squads with a few talented players amongst some very average ones, hard to see anyone but the mighty stags pushing the knights for a title this year

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
Country Fixtures Country Results
Surrey v NZ A at The Oval - Aug 31-Sep 2
Surrey 101 & 336/8 NZ A 211
1st ODI: WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 12, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
1st Match, Qualifying Group: Northern D v Express at Raipur
Sep 13, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
3rd Match, Qualifying Group: Northern D v Lahore Lions at Raipur
Sep 14, 2014 (16:00 local | 10:30 GMT | 06:30 EDT | 05:30 CDT | 03:30 PDT)
2nd ODI: WI Women v NZ Women at Basseterre
Sep 14, 2014 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 EDT | 08:30 CDT | 06:30 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days