Bangladesh in New Zealand 2009-10 January 25, 2010

New Zealand call up Peter Ingram and Andy McKay

Cricinfo staff

The Wellington fast bowler Andy McKay and the Central Districts opening batsman Peter Ingram are in line for their international debuts after being named in the squads to take on Bangladesh next month. New Zealand will be without Shane Bond, Jesse Ryder, Kyle Mills and Grant Elliott, all because of injury.

There was no place for Scott Styris or Aaron Redmond, both of whom played in New Zealand's most recent limited-overs series against Pakistan in the UAE in November. BJ Watling also missed out on the Twenty20 squad having made his debut on that tour while the selectors could not find a place for Lou Vincent, despite his strong domestic Twenty20 form.

McKay, 29, has been named in a 12-man group to take on Bangladesh in three one-day internationals in Napier, Dunedin and Christchurch. A left-arm fast-medium bowler, McKay is the equal leading wicket-taker in the domestic one-day competition this summer with 11 victims at 20.63.

Ingram, 31, has been chosen in the one-day squad and the Twenty20 team to play a one-off international in Hamilton next week. Ingram has been on the domestic scene for nearly a decade and has been in outstanding four-day form this season, with 530 Plunket Shield runs at 75.71, although his one-day form has been less commanding with 154 runs at 30.80.

"The teams have been selected with an eye to the T20 World Cup in the West Indies in May, and players for next year's ODI World Cup in Asia," selector Mark Greatbatch said. "We have picked two sides for Bangladesh, but our mid to long-term focus is on the two World Cup campaigns."

Twenty20 squad Brendon McCullum, Peter Ingram, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, James Franklin, Gareth Hopkins, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori (capt), Ian Butler, Daryl Tuffey, Tim Southee.

ODI squad Brendon McCullum, Peter Ingram, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori (capt), Jacob Oram, Ian Butler, Daryl Tuffey, Tim Southee, Andy McKay.