India in New Zealand 2008-09 February 28, 2009

Butler makes comeback to one-day squad

Cricinfo staff

Kyle Mills made it to the one-day squad after missing the Twenty20s because of an Achilles tendon problem © Getty Images

While Nathan McCullum and Ewen Thompson failed to make the move up to New Zealand's one-day squad, fast bowler Ian Butler has made a comeback after five years for the first of three ODIs against India starting March 3.

Offspinner Jeetan Patel was left out from a squad that has no regular spinners apart from Daniel Vettori. Glenn Turner, New Zealand's chief selector, said India's strength against spin prompted the decision to leave out Patel. "We think the attack will benefit from having an extra seamer," Turner said.

Jesse Ryder and Jacob Oram, who missed the Chappell-Hadlee Series earlier this month because of injury but played the two Twenty20s against India, returned in place of Brendon Diamanti and Peter Fulton.

The team management will breathe a sigh of relief over Kyle Mills' recovery from the injury that kept him out of the Twenty20s. Mills will lead New Zealand's seam attack along with Iain O'Brien, Tim Southee and Butler. In 10 State Shield games this season, Butler took 18 wickets at 19.83.

Patel, along with Thompson and Fulton, has been included in the New Zealand A squad for the second four-day game against the England Lions, starting on March 7 at Lincoln.

New Zealand ODI squad: Daniel Vettori (capt), Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (wk), Kyle Mills, Iain O'Brien, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

New Zealand A squad: Jamie How (capt), Brent Arnel, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Chris Martin, Jeetan Patel, Aaron Redmond, Ewen Thompson, Kane Williamson, Reece Young.