Pakistan news

Ajmal sweeps Pakistan awards

ESPNcricinfo staff

January 12, 2013

Comments: 50 | Text size: A | A

Saeed Ajmal is ecstatic after getting rid of Jonathan Trott, Pakistan v England, 3rd Test, Dubai, 4th day, February 6, 2012
Saeed Ajmal won four awards at the inaugural PCB annual awards night © Getty Images
Related Links

Saeed Ajmal, who was a notable omission from the ICC Test Cricket of the Year award list, has swept the bowling awards at the inaugural PCB annual awards function. Apart from being named the best bowler in all three categories - Tests, ODIs and T20s - Ajmal also won the PCB special prize for Best Bowler of the Year.

"Around the cricketing world, Pakistan over the years has been known for its bowling attack," Ajmal said. "To be named the best for the year from such a special group, for me this is an out of this world feeling. It took me 16 years to reach at this point in my life.

"Bowling in a Test match requires fitness, perseverance and skill. You have to think the batsman out. I am happy that I was rated as the best out of an attack that is considered second to none."

In 2012, Ajmal played six Tests in which he claimed 39 wickets at an average of 20.56, which was the best among the top ten bowlers. His best came in the UAE, where his 24 wickets at 14.70 helped Pakistan demolish England, the then No. 1 side in the world, 3-0. He also bagged 31 wickets in ODIs and 25 in T20s in this period.

Nasir Jamshed, who made a comeback to the Pakistan team last year, also won awards in more than one category. He was named Batsman of the Year in both ODIs and T20s, while the prize for the Test Batsman of the Year went to Azhar Ali, who scored 551 runs at an average of 55.10.

Mohammad Hafeez, who took over the reins of Pakistan's T20 team last year, was named the Player of the Year for his successes with both bat and ball. Junaid Khan, the young fast bowler, was named the Emerging Player of the Year.

The awards were decided by a jury comprising of Intikhab Alam, Pakistan's chief selector, Iqbal Qasim and veteran journalist Qamar Ahmed.

List of winners

Player of the Year - Mohammad Hafeez

Test Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

Test Batsman of the Year - Azhar Ali

ODI Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

ODI Batsman of the Year - Nasir Jamshed

T20 Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

T20 Batsman of the Year - Nasir Jamshed

Special prize for Best Bowler of the Year - Saeed Ajmal

Emerging Player of the Year - Junaid Khan

Lifetime Achievement Award - Imtiaz Ahmed

Most Valuable Domestic Bowler of the Year - Zulfiqar Babar

Woman Cricketer of the Year - Sana Mir

Blind Cricketer of the Year - Muhammad Jamil

Deaf Cricketer of the Year - Muhammad Shakil

Umpire of the Year - Ahsan Raza

Curator of the Year - Haji Muhammad Bashir

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (January 15, 2013, 2:51 GMT)

Speaking of new players - Sadaf Hussain - I think he needs to be selected at national level *urgently*.

At 23 if he comes into national sides, he can work on his fitness and speed. He averages under 18 after 160 wickets (in 50 innings)!

Posted by UK_Chap on (January 14, 2013, 14:07 GMT)

Cricketsasportnotproduct : It must eat you up to see Pakistan produce great bowlers like Ajmal, otherwise why would you make such silly and ungracious comments. He the greatest Spin bowler in the world at the moment and is recognised as so by ALL the people that matter. All the commentators, other players and teams respect him, his action has been cleared by the ICC and various other bodies. It is people like you that hide behind the anonymity of the internet and make these sorts of comments. If you said anything like this in the mainstream media you would be liable for slander and be in court quicker than you can count.

Posted by   on (January 14, 2013, 9:16 GMT)

Good to see Pakistan taking such initiatives and more delighted to see that Dave Richardson, ICC CEO, was invited to this event. PCB and Zaka Ashraf are doing everything they can for Pakistan Cricket.

Posted by Junaid11 on (January 13, 2013, 16:52 GMT)

@.Virk....... For Kohli Junaid Khan is enough.............. Ha ha ha

Posted by swat1999 on (January 13, 2013, 14:16 GMT)

One more category BEST WICKET KEEPER of the year never mentioned??I think Pakistan needs a talented wicket keeper cum batsman for all 3 formats. This is the weakest link of Pakistan Cricket

Posted by FRRR on (January 13, 2013, 13:25 GMT)

@drnaveed ,,, Fully agree with you

Posted by drnaveed on (January 13, 2013, 12:12 GMT)

Last year he took the most number of wkts , but ICC gave the award to philinder as he had a better average. this time , herath took the most wkts and ajmal has the best bowling average, see what ICC does this time, sure they will ignore him this time as well.................................... ????????????

Posted by   on (January 13, 2013, 9:23 GMT)

@ Cricketsasportnotproduct : are you English or Indian ?? :P .. doesn't surprise me :P ...

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Group C: AJK Jaguars v Leopards at Karachi - Sep 22
Leopards won by 34 runs
Group D: Falcons v Stags at Karachi - Sep 22
Falcons 29/0 (3/20 ov)
Group D: Lahore Lions v DM Jamali at Karachi
Sep 22, 2014 (17:00 local | 12:00 GMT | 08:00 EDT | 07:00 CDT | 05:00 PDT)
Group C: L Eagles v P Panthers at Karachi
Sep 22, 2014 (21:00 local | 16:00 GMT | 12:00 EDT | 11:00 CDT | 09:00 PDT)
Group D: Stags v DM Jamali at Karachi
Sep 23, 2014 (09:00 local | 04:00 GMT | 00:00 EDT | 23:00 CDT | 21:00 PDT)
Group C: AJK Jaguars v Wolves at Karachi
Sep 23, 2014 (13:00 local | 08:00 GMT | 04:00 EDT | 03:00 CDT | 01:00 PDT)
Group C: Leopards v P Panthers at Karachi
Sep 23, 2014 (17:00 local | 12:00 GMT | 08:00 EDT | 07:00 CDT | 05:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days