Inter-Department Qualifying Tournament 2003-04 November 4, 2003

Third Round: Batsmen and bowlers shine on opening day

Wisden CricInfo staff

Pakistan's Younis Khan struck form with a magnificent 191 and Hasan Raza slammed an unbeaten 103 as Habib Bank went on a run-spree against Saga on day 1 of the third round of the Inter-Department Qualifying Tournament on Tuesday.

In his 217-ball innings Younis struck 32 fours and two sixes while Hasan hit 13 boundaries in his 90-ball knock as the pair plundered 207 runs for the third wicket to help a struggling Habib Bank team to 426-5 off 80 overs. Saleem Elahi also chipped in with 80 (8x4, 135b).

ZTBL's Imran Abbas scored his third century in as many matches as his team (previously known as ADBP) first bowled out PAF for 72 and then finished the day at 242-4 from 57 overs. Imran was batting on 113 (11x4) at close of play. In the morning, the Air Force batting was decimated by Rao Iftikhar (6-36) and Mohammad Saddique (4-20).

The other 'forces' teams - Army and Navy - also had a poor first day. Pak Army were bowled out for 83 by KRL when Yasir Arafat took 5-30. KRL, at stumps, were 252 for two in 59 overs with Mohammad Ramzan batting on 105.

The Navy team was dismissed for 86 by PIA who had batted to 148-3 in 46 overs at close of play.

Pakistan Test opener Mohammad Hafeez missed a century against PEB when he was out for 92 as Sui Gas finished the day at 234-1 in 43 overs in reply to the students 127. The gas utility's Mohammad Irshad took 5-47.

There were some other fine bowling performances on the first day.
Pak PWD's Riaz Sheikh took 6-68 as Customs were dismissed for 245, Rizwan Akbar bagged 5-58 when POF were bowled out for 139 by ARL who finished at 81-4, HEC's Sajid Aziz scooped up 5-52 to help rout KPT for 263, Abdul Rauf snapped up 5-51 as LEO International were shot out for 172 and PTCL's Mohammad Khalil took 5-86 against Wapda who reached 275 in their first innings.

Scores in brief (day 1 of 3):

Pool A
At PCB Academy, Navy 86 (Nadeem Babar 27, Hammad Khan 24, Najaf Shah 4-13, Fazle Akbar 3-37, Saqlain Mushtaq 2-8) vs PIA 148-3 in 46 overs (Yasir Hameed 55*, Kamran Sajid 28, Imran Farhat 26, Faisal Iqbal 20).
At Asghar Ali Shah Stadium, Pakistan Customs 245 in 79.4 overs (Aamir Bashir 75 [7x4, 146b], Azhar Shafiq 68 [9x4, 113b], Riaz Sheikh 6-68) vs Pak PWD 18-0.

Pool B
At Pindi Cricket Stadium, Wapda 275 in 82.4 overs (Hasan Adnan 73, Tariq Aziz 63, Mohammad Zaman 33*, Rizwan Malik 30, Mohammad Khalil 5-86, Mohammad Hussain 4-84) vs PTCL.
At Pindi Club Ground, Army 83 in 28.2 overs (Yasir Arafat 5-30) vs KRL 252-2 in 59 overs (Mohammad Ramzan 105*, Ali Naqvi 71, Saeed Anwar Jnr 65).
KRL Stadium, POF 139 in 46.1 overs (Imran Ali 41, Rizwan Akbar 5-58, Alamgir Khan 3-18) vs ARL 81-4 in 26 overs (Nauman Aman 35, Nadeem Ahmed 3-17).

Pool C
At LCCA Ground, KPT 263 in 80 overs (Maisam Hasnain 81, Rashid Hanif 43, Farhan Iqbal 32*, Sajid Aziz 5-52, Shoaib Maqsood 3-83) vs HEC 1-0.
At Jinnah Ground Okara, Service Industries 230 in 80.1 overs (Rizwan Ahmed 55, Masood Asim 55, Farhan Asghar 30, Qaiser Abbas 4-25, Shabbir Ahmed 3-54) vs NBP.
At Bagh-e-Jinnah Lahore, PAF 72 (Rao Iftikhar 6-36, Mohammad Saddique 4-20) vs ZTBL 242-4 in 57 overs (Imran Abbas 113*, Atif Ashraf 86).

Pool D
At Jinnah Stadium Gujranwala, LEO International 172 in 72.5 overs (Shoaib Nasir 63, Faisal Ashraf 51, Abdul Rauf 5-51, Arshad Khan 3-31) vs Allied Bank 21-0.
At Jinnah Stadium Sialkot, PEB 127 (Mohammad Irshad 5-47, Wasim Khan 2-48, Imran Tahir 2-4) vs Sui Gas 234-1 in 43 overs (Mohammad Hafeez 92 [16x4, 92b], Ali Hussain 81 not out, Sufiyan Munir 45*).
At Saga Ground Sialkot, Habib Bank 426-5 in 80 overs (Younis Khan 191 [32x4, 2x6, 217b], Hasan Raza 103 [13x4, 90b], Saleem Elahi 80 [8x4, 135b]) vs Saga.