Tournament takes place in February 2006

Pakistan to host ninth Asia Cup

Cricinfo staff

October 13, 2005

Text size: A | A

The Asian Cricket Council has confirmed that the ninth Asia Cup will be held in Pakistan in February next year. The four Test-playing countries will be joined by the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman, the finalists in the 2004 Asian Cricket Council Trophy.

The preliminary matches will be played at Rawalpindi and Karachi, with the later rounds and the final being played in Lahore. The six teams will be divided into two groups - group A containing Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and UAE, and group B containing India, Oman and Pakistan. The top two sides in each group will progress to the second stage.

Jagmohan Dalmiya, president of the Asian Cricket Council, said: "The Asia Cup has always been a landmark event in Asia. It brings together the strength of our countries and stands as an inspiration to all our Associate members as it gives them the opportunity to play at the highest level. The Asia Cup has always been closely contested and I anticipate that this tournament will do much to further increase the public's interest in cricket."

2006 Asia Cup

Thu Feb 16 Bangladesh v UAE Rawalpindi
Pakistan v Oman Karachi
Fri Feb 17 Bangladesh v Sri Lanka Rawalpindi
India v Oman Karachi
Sat Feb 18 Sri Lanka v UAE Rawalpindi
Pakistan v India Karachi
Mon Feb 20 A2 v B2 Lahore
Tue Feb 21 A1 v B1 Lahore
Web Feb 22 A1 v A2 Lahore
Fri Feb 24 A2 v B1 Lahore
Sat Feb 25 A1 v B2 Lahore
Sun Feb 26 B1 v B2 Lahore
Tue Feb 28 Final Lahore

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: Asia Cup
Country Fixtures Country Results
Pakistan A v Kenya at Lahore - Dec 19
Pakistan A won by 118 runs
5th ODI: New Zealand v Pakistan at Abu Dhabi - Dec 19
New Zealand 133/2 (31/50 ov)
Pakistan A v Kenya at Lahore
Dec 20, 2014 (09:30 local | 04:30 GMT | 23:30 EST | 22:30 CST | 20:30 PST)
Final: National Bnk v Sui Gas at Karachi
Dec 22-26, 2014 (10:00 local | 05:00 GMT | 00:00 EST | 23:00 CST | 21:00 PST)
1st ODI: Pak Women v SL Women at Sharjah
Jan 9, 2015 ()
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days