Pakistan cricket September 28, 2008

Committee formed to review PCB constitution

Cricinfo staff

Pakistan's Ministry of Sports has formed a 15-member committee to review the Pakistan Cricket Board's constitution. The committee will be headed by minister of law Farooq H Niak and also includes Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik and Misbah-ul-Haq, the vice-captain.

"The committee has been constituted to make necessary changes in the PCB constitution," sports minister Najamuddin Khan, who is the co-chairman of the committee, was quoted as saying in the News. "In the current constitution, it is the chairman of the board who is the most powerful. We want the committee to form the constitution following democratic lines."

The committee has been given 15 to 20 days to finalise the changes to the constitution. The other members are Mohammad Ashraf Khan (secretary sports), Dr Syed Mohammad Ali Shah (Sindh sports minister and Karachi region head), Tariq Balooch (Quetta), Mian Munir Ahmad (Multan), Shafqat Naghmi (PCB chief operating officer), Shakil Sheikh (President ICA), Amir Nawab (Abbottabad), Akhunzada Chattan (MNA), Majid Khan and Zaheer Abbas (former Test cricketers).