RBS Pentangular Cup, 2nd round, 3rd day

Yasir Shah puts SNGPL on top

Cricinfo staff

January 9, 2010

Text size: A | A

Karachi Blues 172 for 6 (Kamal 39, Yasir 4 for 66) and 272 lead Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited 400 (Hafeez 110, Mughal 98, Haroon 4-87) by 44 runs

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited are in an excellent position to force a win over Karachi Blues at the National Bank of Pakistan Sports Complex. Though they were able to add just 73 more to their overnight score, losing five wickets, they had gained a substantial lead of 128; soon enough, their bowlers, led by legspinner Yasir Shah's 4 for 66, had added significant pressure on Karachi, limiting them to 172 for 6 at stumps, just 44 ahead.

SNGPL captain Saleem Mughal, the overnight batsman, missed his century, dismissed for 98 but his team was backed by other important contributions, including the 41 extras, to reach 400. Karachi, in their second innings, had struggled from the outset, losing their first three wickets with just 40 on the board, and though Ali Asad (23), Asim Kamal (39) and Azam Hussain (37) got starts, they failed to consolidate. Karachi lost their sixth wicket just before stumps, and have much to do to achieve a draw tomorrow.

The Rest 412 and 235 for 5 (Sajjad 88, Yasin 71) lead Sialkot 345 (Faisal 70, Tabish 5-96) by 302 runs

The Rest have reached a position of control at the National Stadium after bowling Sialkot out for 280, and extending their lead to a healthy 302 with five wickets in hand at stumps on the third day. Sialkot had competed well on the second day, reaching 280 for 5, but a five-wicket haul from fast bowler Tabish Khan allowed them to add just 65 more to their overnight score. As a result, The Rest secured a first-innings lead of 67, and their batsmen, in the second innings, ensured the advantage remained with them.

They did suffer an early wobble, however, with three wickets down for 52, but Aamer Sajjad (88) and Naved Yasin (71), the stars with the bat from the first innings, continued their excellent form, adding 132 for the fourth wicket. Though both were dismissed before stumps, the lead remains substantial and some quick runs from the two unbeaten batsmen, Saeed Bin Nasir and Naeem Anjum, on the final day could prompt a declaration in an effort to bowl out Sialkot.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Only T20I: Pakistan v Australia at Dubai (DSC)
Oct 3, 2014 (20:00 local | 16:00 GMT | 12:00 EDT | 11:00 CDT | 09:00 PDT)
1st ODI: Pakistan v Australia at Abu Dhabi
Oct 5, 2014 (15:00 local | 11:00 GMT | 07:00 EDT | 06:00 CDT | 04:00 PDT)
2nd ODI: Pakistan v Australia at Sharjah
Oct 8, 2014 (15:00 local | 11:00 GMT | 07:00 EDT | 06:00 CDT | 04:00 PDT)
3rd ODI: Pakistan v Australia at Abu Dhabi
Oct 10, 2014 (15:00 local | 11:00 GMT | 07:00 EDT | 06:00 CDT | 04:00 PDT)
Pakistan A v Australians at Sharjah
Oct 13-16, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 02:00 EDT | 01:00 CDT | 23:00 PDT)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days