RBS one-day competition, semi-finals

Stallions and SNGPL set up summit clash

Cricinfo staff

February 21, 2010

Text size: A | A

Kamran Younis' strokeful 127 was the highlight at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, as Sialkot Stallions made short work of Multan Tigers' score of 282 to storm into the finals of the RBS Cup. Stallions elected to field and pegged back their opponents with two early strikes before they ran into Abdur Rauf. The Tigers' captain was in a punishing mood and went hell-for-broke during a manic 65 off 40 balls, before his side suffered a middle-order collapse. Things looked desperate at 160 for 6 before Rameez Alam took charge of the innings. His steady 70 was supported well by Kashif Naved's 33. Mohammad Ali was among the wickets, finishing with 4 for 55. Opener Younis then took over, and ensured his side was never behind the eight-ball. Majid Jahangir and Faisal Khan contributed 34 each in stands of 86 and 85 that put their side well in control. Younis fell after striking 15 fours and two sixes, but Adeel Malik and Nayyer Abbas hastened the end with a flurry of boundaries.

There were no such heroics at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad, where National Bank of Pakistan collapsed in their chase of 298, to let Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited make the finals. Naeemuddin and Misbah-ul-Haq made good use of the wicket in the morning, striking 90 and 87 respectively to power SNGPL towards a strong score.Misbah hit three sixes, but it was Naeemuddin who was the more aggressive player in the stand, making his runs at better than a run-a-ball. Khurram Shehzad then made the difference between a good score and a formidable one, smashing 70 runs in 53 balls in the death. Sarmad Bhatti was the only bowler who was unscathed, picking figures of 2 for 38. NBP's chase never got into gear, despite Kamran Akmal's quickfire 42. After Samiullah Khan's initial strikes pegged them back, Imran Ali ran through the tail to finish with 4 for 26 and ensure a very early finish - the innings folded for 116 in the 30th over.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
Group II: Falcons v Sui Sthn Gas at Abbottabad - Oct 30-Nov 2
Falcons 223 & 24/0 Sui Sthn Gas 297
Group II: Stags v Habib Bank at Bahawalpur - Oct 30-Nov 2
Stags 221 Habib Bank 415/8
Group I: Hawks v Khan RL at Hyderabad (Sind) - Oct 30-Nov 2
Hawks 213 Khan RL 322/5
Leopards v Sui Gas at Islamabad - Oct 30-Nov 2
Sui Gas 262 & 2/0 Leopards 236
K Dolphins v WAPDA at Karachi - Oct 30-Nov 2
K Dolphins 80 & 25/0 WAPDA 303
Group I: L Eagles v Pakistan TV at Lahore - Oct 30-Nov 2
Pakistan TV 294 & 2/0 L Eagles 213
Lahore Lions v United Bank at Lahore - Oct 30-Nov 2
Lahore Lions 216 United Bank 358/4
Tigers v National Bnk at Multan - Oct 30-Nov 2
Tigers 68 & 137/3 National Bnk 390
Group I: PIA v Quetta Bears at Islamabad - Oct 30-Nov 2
PIA 179 & 160/6 Quetta Bears 186
P Panthers v Port Qasim A at Peshawar - Oct 30-Nov 2
Port Qasim A 166 & 270/5 P Panthers 126
R Rams v ZTBL at Rawalpindi - Oct 30-Nov 2
ZTBL 205 & 29/1 R Rams 205
Group II: S Stallions v State B of P at Sialkot - Oct 30-Nov 2
S Stallions 342 State B of P 169/6
2nd Test: Australia v Pakistan at Abu Dhabi - Oct 30-Nov 3
Pakistan 570/6d Australia 26/1
Pakistan A v N Zealanders at Sharjah
Nov 3-5, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days