PQA v SNGPL, Ramadan T20 Cup, Group B, Karachi July 20, 2013

SNGPL get first win, PQA get first defeat

ESPNcricinfo staff

Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited 73 for 3 (Taufeeq 45*) beat Port Qasim Authority 72 (Shah 3-11) by seven wickets

A disciplined effort from the bowlers, in which they bundled Port Qasim Authority for just 72, helped Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited secure a seven-wicket victory. It was SNGPL's first win of the tournament and snapped table-toppers PQA's three-match winning streak.

PQA won the toss and elected to bat, but were in all sorts of trouble after Samiullah Khan and Yasir Shah tore into the top order to reduce them to 29 for 6 at the halfway stage. Wicketkeeper Mohammad Salman tried to hold the innings together with his 24, but wickets continued to tumble at the other end. PQA were eventually dismissed for 72 off the penultimate ball of the innings. Yasir Shah took an impressive 3 for 11 off his four overs, and was ably supported by Samiullah Khan's 2 for 4 off three overs, and Bilawal Bhatti's 2 for 18.

With a low score to chase, SNGPL started well with a 37-run partnership that ended any chance of a turnaround for PQA. Despite losing a few wickets, the batsmen were not troubled, as Taufeeq Umar anchored the innings with his unbeaten 45. SNGPL crossed the line in the 15th over to beat PQA by seven wickets.