United Bank Limited v Pakistan Television, President's Trophy

Raza, Irshad bowl UBL to victory

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 30, 2013

Text size: A | A

Thirty-three wickets fell in two days at the Diamond Club Ground in Islamabad, and it was United Bank Limited's bowlers that had the better of the contest to set up a seven-wicket victory against Pakistan Television.

United Bank won the toss and their bowlers vindicated the decision to put Pakistan Television in by routing them for 150. Mohammad Irshad took 4 for 47 while Tariq Haroon and Atif Maqbool took three wickets each. PTV's No. 8 Yasim Murtaza, who made 42, was their top scorer.

Despite that collapse, PTV looked like taking the lead at one stage, when they had United Bank at 114 for 7 in their first innings. The No. 11 Maqbool, however, scored 24 to give his team a valuable 35-run lead. Rizwan Akbar claimed 6 for 67 for United Bank, while Mohammad Ali took 4 for 68.

Irshad and Asif Raza did a demolition job on PTV in their second innings, taking five wickets each to dismiss them for 64 in 21.5 overs. They had wiped out the deficit for the loss of only one wicket but then lost 9 for 37.

United Bank had a target of 30 to win and they lost three wickets before they got there.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Country Fixtures Country Results
2nd Quarter-Final: Habib Bank v Hawks at Mirpur - Nov 23-26
Habib Bank 128 & 423/5d Hawks 266 & 19/2
4th Quarter-Final: Sui Sthn Gas v Pakistan TV at Islamabad - Nov 23-26
Sui Sthn Gas 266 & 373 Pakistan TV 222 & 50/2
National Bnk v United Bank at Islamabad - Nov 24-27
National Bnk 451/9d United Bank 139/1
P Panthers v Leopards at Peshawar - Nov 24-27
Leopards 402 P Panthers 101/3
R Rams v Tigers at Rawalpindi - Nov 24-27
R Rams 137 & 189/8 Tigers 70
WAPDA v Port Qasim A at Lahore - Nov 24-27
Port Qasim A 379 WAPDA 111/3
ZTBL v Sui Gas at Islamabad - Nov 24-27
Sui Gas 306 & 4/0 ZTBL 138
3rd Test: New Zealand v Pakistan at Sharjah
Nov 26-30, 2014 (10:00 local | 06:00 GMT | 01:00 EST | 00:00 CST | 22:00 PST)
Complete fixtures » | Download Fixtures »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days