Pakistan news August 10, 2014

PCB chairman election to be held on August 18

ESPNcricinfo staff

The long-running uncertainty over the leadership of the PCB looks set to end on August 18, when the election for the chairman's post will be held. The PCB's acting chairman, Muhammad Sair Ali, also announced the full list of the Board of Governors from which the new chairman will be elected.

Following a recent change to the board's constitution, the structure of the Board of Governors was resized to 10 members, comprising four regional representations (top four teams from the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy) and four representatives of services organisations (top four department teams) and two nominated members.

Najam Sethi, who has headed, and been ousted from, the board several times during the last year, and former chairman Shaharyar Khan had earlier been nominated to the Board of Governors by Nawaz Sharif, the Prime Minister of Pakistan and the Patron of the PCB.

The last date for filing nominations is on August 15. With Sethi having said that he will not contest the election, Shaharyar Khan is seen as a leading contender.