Ranji Trophy 2012-13, Group B, Round 4, 2nd day November 25, 2012

Karnataka take first-innings lead

ESPNcricinfo staff

Odisha 202 (Niranjan Behera 61, Akshay 4-40) and 30 for 2 lead Karnataka 213 (Uthappa 43) 19 runs

It was a tense day at the Chinnaswamy Stadium as Karnataka and Odisha tussled for the first-innings lead. Karnataka seemed to have had the better of the first day having bowled out Odisha for 202, but found themselves at 183 for 7 in the final session. That brought together CM Gautam and KP Appanna, the same pair that had batted out 40 minutes on the final day to deny UP an outright win earlier this week. They took Karnataka to 197 for 7 before Gautam was run out, and Appanna holed out off Basant Mohanty. Karnataka's last-wicket pair had to put on six to grab the first-innings lead. SL Akshay, who starred with the ball on the first day, steered them with the bat, hitting five fours in his 26 to take Karnataka to 213. Karnataka captain Vinay Kumar then took two early wickets to leave Odisha at 30 for 2 before bad light ended play. The first-innings lead may not prove crucial as there is plenty of time left in the game to produce an outright result.

Baroda 197 for 3 (Wakaskar 100*, Waghmode 77) trail Haryana 295 (Dalal 104, Utkarsh Patel 5-83) by 98 runs

Baroda's openers put on a big stand to give their side control of the match against Haryana, the only team in the competition yet to score a point. Saurabh Wakaskar, playing only his second first-class match, made his maiden Ranji century and added 189 with Aditya Waghmode, who made his fourth fifty-plus scores in five innings this season. Baroda would have been in an even stronger position if not for legspinner Amit Mishra getting three lbws late in the day to push Baroda to 197 for 3. In the morning, another batsman playing his second first-class match hit a century. Haryana's Rahul Dalal completed his hundred even as the side lost their final five wickets for 48 to end on 295. Offspinner Utkarsh Patel, who had only two wickets in his three first-class matches so far, was the most successful of the Baroda bowlers, taking five for 83.

Tamil Nadu 31 for 1 trail Delhi 555 for 4 dec (Chand 138, Dhawan 104, Mohit 175, Rawal 100*) by 524 runs

Maiden Ranji Trophy centuries for Delhi rookie Mohit Sharma and debutant Vaibhav Rawal extended Tamil Nadu's woes on day two of their group game at Feroz Shah Kotla. Delhi declared their first innings on 555 for 4 half an hour before stumps and dismissed Tamil Nadu opener Abhinav Mukund in the first over. Tamil Nadu were 31 for 1 at the close. Read the full report here.

Vidarbha 123 for 2 (Fazal 59) trail Maharashra 282 (Awate 126, Atitkar 45, Wagh 5-23) by 159 runs

Vidarbha left-arm seamer Shrikant Wagh claimed figures of 5 for 23 at an economy rate of 0.84 to bring his team back into the contest against Maharashtra in Nagpur. Maharashtra held the upper hand on the first day at 227 for 3, which featured a century from opener Virag Awate. But Wagh, who had bowled a wicketless but economical spell the previous day, claimed wickets regularly to bowl them out for 282. Besides Awate's 126 and No. 3 Sangram Atitkar's 45, none of the other batsmen put up a resistance.

Vidarbha lost a couple of wickets early in their reply, but opener Faiz Fazal scored an unbeaten half-century to take them to 123 for 3 at stumps.