Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group A, 3rd round, 2nd day

Behera, Sahoo tons lift Odisha

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 15, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Vidarbha 14 for 2 (Fazal 10*) trail Odisha 453 for 6 dec (Behera 131, Sahoo 114*, Podder 74, Jungade 4-56) by 439 runs

Saurabh Tiwary hammered 151 off 148, Australian Institute of Sport v India Emerging Players, Emerging Players tournament, 2nd day, Townsville, August 12, 2011
File photo: Saurabh Tiwary's 95 took Jharkhand to 231 © Getty Images

Resuming on 226 for 3 from the previous delay, it was imperative that Odisha's batsmen put on a sizable first-innings effort. Niranjan Behera, who was on 90 overnight, was able to notch the remaining runs to score a third first-class century. His partner, Biplab Samamntray, fell soon after with the score on 242 to Amol Jungade, who had him caught behind by wicketkeeper Amol Ubarhande. His replacement, Abhilash Mallick, only lasted two balls before he was removed in the same manner of dismissal.

This brought Subhrajit Sahoo to the crease, and along with Behera, the pair put on exactly 100 for the sixth wicket before Behera was claimed by Sumit Ruikar on 131. One Behera was replaced by another as Deepak Behera strode to the crease. Together with Sahoo, the pair put on an unbeaten stand of 111 before Odisha declared on 453 for 6. Sahoo was not out on 114, while Deepak Behera added 58. Jungade was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 56. Vidarbha only faced four overs but, crucially, lost two wickets to finish on 14 for 2, with opener Faiz Fazal not out on 10.

Jharkhand 231 (Tiwary 95, Mohit 4-30) trail Haryana 309 (Dalal 58, Sunny 53, Aaron 4-48) by 78 runs

The second day began with Jharkand needing to restrict Haryana to as little as possible when they resumed on 296 for 8. Within thee overs, the job was done as both Mohit Sharma and Yuzhendra Chahal were sent back as Haryana were dismissed for 309. Varun Aaron led the way with 4 for 48, while Shahbaz Nadeem chipped in with 3 for 109.

Jharkhand started abysmally, with Mohit removing the first three batsmen with the score on just 26. Ishank Jaggi didn't last long either as Jharkhand were reduced to 40 for 4. Saurabh Tiwary and Bhavin Thakkar put on an integral 106-run stand for the fifth wicket to help steady the innings. Thakkar was dismissed on 35 in the 65th over, followed by Tiwary on 95 in the 70th. The rest of the line-up failed to put up meaningful scores as Jharkhand were bundled for 231. Mohit was the pick of the Haryana bowlers with 4 for 30.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (November 15, 2013, 15:31 GMT)

Good Going Odisha....!! Try Hard To Maintain The Pressure On Vidarbha..!!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days