Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group C, 3rd round, 2nd day November 15, 2013

Himachal eye big win in Dharamsala

ESPNcricinfo staff

Jammu & Kashmir 14 for 1 and 178 trail Himachal Pradesh 454 (Dogra 96, Bipul 74, Chauhan 53, Dhawan 50) trail by 262 runs

Paras Dogra missed his second century of the season by four runs, but his 96 set the tone for a solid Himachal Pradesh total that has put them in a dominating position against Jammu & Kashmir. Dogra's innings was followed by fifties from Rishi Dhawan, Bipul Sharma and Akshay Chauhan, with Himachal's last four wickets adding 194 runs.

Himachal lost their second wicket early at the start of the day, but an 86-run stand for the third wicket between Dogra and Abhinav Bali took them past J&K's first innings total of 178. J&K were set to limit the damage when they reduced Himachal to 260 for 6, but Dhawan set about taking the game away with a quick 45-ball 50. Dhawan's innings was bettered by Bipul and Chauhan lower down the order as both batsmen scored quick fifties to take Himachal well past 400. Samiullah Beigh was the most successful bowler with four wickets while Parvez Rasool failed to pick up any.

Hyderabad 53 (Suman 28*, Reddy 20*) trail Maharashtra 616 (Jadhav 204, Motwani 107, Khadiwale 107) by 563 runs

Maharasthra's batting, led by Kedar Jadhav's double-century, racked up 616 runs in the first innings against Hyderabad on the second day of their Group C tie. Apart from Jadhav, Rohit Motwani scored his third first-class century, while Sangram Atitkar scored 98.

Jadhav, overnight on 175, quickly went on to complete his double-century before being dismissed by Hanuma Vihari for 204. But Motwani and Atitkar added 179 for the sixth wicket to take Maharashtra close to 600. Motwani took 239 balls to score his runs in an innings that lasted for almost six hours, while Atitkar played 175 balls in his innings. Mahrashtra's innings folded soon after both batsmen were dismissed in consecutive overs. Ravi Kiran was the most successful bowler with four wickets while Amol Shinde picked up three.

Hyderabad responded with an unbeaten half-century stand between openers T Suman and Akshath Reddy in the 14 overs possible before the end of the day.

Kerala 297 (Prem 80, Dutta 4-38) lead Tripura 140 for 9 (Takawale 45, Warrier 4-27) by 157 runs

Solid contribution from the Kerala batting, led by Rohan Prem's 80, helped Kerala to a strong lead against Tripura by the end of the second day in Kannur. However, Prem's was the only half-century - the first of the match after two innings.

The innings was a story of important stands: Kerala batsmen added 65, 57 and 62 for the second, fifth and the sixth wickets. The total of these three partnerships itself was more than Tripura's first-innings total of 140. The second-wicket stand was between VA Jagadeesh and Sanju Samson, who has been in good form in this season, but both were dimissed in their 40s. Then Prem was central in building the innings with Sachin Baby and Vinoop Manoharan supporting him to push Kerala past 250. Prem was the eighth batsman to be dismissed, but by that time, the lead had swollen to 137 already. Kerala were dismissed soon after, with Rana Dutta and Abhijit Dey picking up four and three wickets respectively.

Assam 116 for 4 (Jadhav 44*, Vijaykumar 2-35) trail Andhra 297 (Bharat 70, Sumanth 75, Nechim 5-62) by 181 runs

Assam fast bowler Abu Nechim picked up four of the five Andhra Pradesh wickets to fall on the second morning to complete his seventh five-wicket haul on the second day of their Group C match in Anantapur. That burst helped Assam wrap up Andhra's innings for 297 with the last five batsmen adding 64.

In the second over of the morning, Nechim had Duvvarapy Shivkumar caught behind off the third delivery before nipping out Syed Shahabuddin off his next delivery. Andhra resisted for the next 16 overs, with Bodapati Sumanth holding one end together, as they pushed towards 300. But once Sumanth was dismissed, Nechim picked up the two remaining wickets quickly.

In response, Assam started positively with openers Dheeraj Jadhav and Pallavkumar Das adding 45 for the first wicket. Das was the first to be dismissed and Assam's following batsmen, just like Das, failed to make use of the starts. Sibasankar Roy and Tarjinder Singh were dismissed for 21 and 19 after playing 49 and 62 deliveries respectively. Assam were pushed into further trouble when they lost Pritam Das in the last over of the day, ending the day 181 runs behind Andhra with six wicket in hand.