Ranji Trophy 2013-14

Ranji Trophy live blog, 4th round, 4th day

ESPNcricinfo staff

November 23, 2013

Comments: 26 | Text size: A | A

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 10:08 GMT)

The ODI team that is playing WI is likely to be and should be retained for the SA tour with space for one more fast bowler(Dhawal Kulkarni if he is out of injury) if the squad is made into 16. The team for ODIs: Dhoni, Kohli, Dhawan, Rohit, Yuvraj, Raina, Rayudu, Ashwin, Jadeja, B.Kumar, Shami, Mohit, Unadkat, Mishra, Vinay and Dhawal

For the Tests in place of Sachin and Amit Mishra, Gambhir/Baba Aparajith should be picked as an additional batsman and Ravindra Jadeja as additional spinnner and additional fast bowler in Zaheer Khan or Mohit Sharma/Unadkat/Dhawal Kulkarni (depending on whether the selectors want to try out the inexperienced bowlers only or to go in with experience) may also be brought in to complete the squad of 16. The team for Tests: Dhoni, Kohli, Dhawan, Vijay, Pujara, Rohit, Rahane, Ashwin, B.Kumar, Shami, Ojha, Jadeja, Gambhir/B.Aparajith, Ishant, Umesh, Zaheer/Mohit/Unadkat/Dhawal

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 9:40 GMT)

What is the present score at Eden Gardens?

Posted by ranjahna on (November 24, 2013, 8:21 GMT)

Vijay is also under tremendous form...failure against windies and now a duck and 38 in a flat track.....better to go with gambhir played in a good sporty pitch..roshanhara

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 7:48 GMT)

very happy to see assam at no 2 in the group 2 standings. hope assam wins more.

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 7:32 GMT)

@ Aashiq.kb what do you mean sporting pitches... @ Athul Raju rightly said he is a good batsman of spin bowling as well as fast bowling he just needed some confidence which he was lacking ..

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 6:40 GMT)

J&K WON RANJI MATCH i am feeling very happy.I am from J&K and i have not much seen j&k winning.Congrats to u guys

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 5:20 GMT)

Time to give Rishi a looking rather than playing musical chairs with Ishant,Vinay and others..

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 3:39 GMT)

@Aashiq.kb....2007 CB series againt austraila..in aus...who was the leading run getter??? it was him...with 440 runs...SRT was second with 399..he was once test player of the year..remember his test saving inning against NZ in NZ..in whch he got some 120 odd runs...against fast moving ball every1 struggles...even virat kholi..he was al over the place againt junaid khan even in indian tracks..jz watch d hightlight of dat 3 match odi aginst pak..(dere last tour to india) n talk...:)

Posted by   on (November 24, 2013, 3:29 GMT)

RISHI DHAWAN should be given chance by selectors. he is far more better then VINAY KUMAR & ISHANT SHARMA in all three departments of the games. He is the leading wicket taker in this season. He can be better option in south africa if TEAM INDIA playes with 3 fasters.

Posted by Aashiq.kb on (November 23, 2013, 20:16 GMT)

Hope the selectors aren't considering to include Gambhir for the SA tour. I haven't seen his knock (153) but I honestly feel that his style of batting is only suited for Indian pitches which are tailor-made for batsmen & spin bowlers. He looks pathetic when the ball starts to swing, seam & bounce!! In simple terms--Gambhir doesn't have it in him to play for India on sporting pitches!

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days