Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group B, 6th round, 4th day

Seamers set up first win for Rajasthan

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 9, 2013

Comments: 1 | Text size: A | A

Rajasthan 282 and 150 for 3 (Bist 63*, Menaria 49*) beat Madhya Pradesh 115 and 314 (Ojha 137, Bundela 54, Rituraj 4-74) by seven wickets

Robin Bist scored his third consecutive half-century to help Rajasthan overcome the 148-run target against Madhya Pradesh with ease and register their first win this season. Bist, following up from his first innings score of 84 not out, was unbeaten on 63 with the help of 10 boundaries.

Rajasthan needed 71 runs on the fourth morning and they made a quick dash towards the target, scoring 73 runs in 10 overs to achieve the win. Ashok Menaria missed his half-century by one run, but his 49 came off 34 deliveries with the help of nine boundaries. It was Menaria's best showing with the bat this season.

Rajasthan have now 11 points from six matches while MP are lingering near the bottom with eight points from the same number of games.

Jharkhand 351 (Tiwary 238, Javed 4-79) and 278 for 7 dec (Jaggi 103*) drew with Mumbai 265 (Tare 67, Aaron 4-42) and 115 for 5 (Tare 36, Nadeem 2-23)

A delayed declaration from Jharkhand allowed a shaky Mumbai side to escape with a draw at the Wankhede Stadium, though the visitors picked up three crucial points for their first-innings lead. With the hosts effectively six down given seamer Akbar Khan's fractured hand, Jharkhand agreed to a stalemate halfway into the final hour, after having batted for an hour and 45 minutes in the morning.

Read the full report here.

Tamil Nadu 233 (Karthik 92, Yusuf 6-84) and 59 for 0 (Arun Karthik 33) beat Baroda 162 (Mistry 68, Shah 4-49) and 129 (Mistry 64, Rangarajan 6-46) by 9 wickets

Tamil Nadu's campaign received a timely boost in the form of their first victory of the season, over Baroda in Chennai. A career-best five-wicket haul from the 24-year-old offspinner Malolan Rangarajan swerved a match that was snailing towards a draw and helped the hosts climb to fourth place on the Group B table. With three games left in the preliminary stage, two of which would be at home, Tamil Nadu's bid for the Ranji crown is back on track.

Read the full report here.

Railways 306 (Ghosh 88) and 193 for 2 (Bhille 100, K Sharma 80) drew with Bengal 270 (L Shukla 95*, Anureet 5-97)

It took around half an hour for Anureet Singh and Krishnakant Upadhyay to ensure three points for Railways but cricketing achievements became incidental in their ill-tempered Ranji Trophy match against Bengal that witnessed a poor display of sportsmanship from players of both sides.

Anureet who bowled tirelessly for 45 overs was rewarded with a match-haul of 5 for 97 as Bengal were bowled out for 270 in 133.5 overs with Railways getting a 36-run first innings lead to take their points tally to 20. While Railways, currently No. 2 in the group, remain firmly in contention for a place in the last eight, Bengal with 12 points from six matches will need to win both their matches in order to qualify.

Read the full report here.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Naresh28 on (December 9, 2013, 10:45 GMT)

BCCI need to create another separate league where the cream of bowlers and batsman are put together and play on pitches with high bounce,swing and pace This will separate the best players from the rest. It would create a two league tier. Successful players can then be drafted into team India and we wont have the debacle where we send mediocre players in our team to SA, AUST and ENG.

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Robin Bist
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season
Teams: India
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days