Ranji Trophy 2013-14

Jaffer to lead Mumbai in place of injured Nayar

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 11, 2013

Comments: 3 | Text size: A | A

Abhishek Nayar celebrates his five-for, Mumbai v Bengal, Ranji Trophy, Group A, Mumbai, 4th day, December 4, 2012
File photo - Abhishek Nayar picked up injuries in Mumbai's last Group A match against Jharkhand © Fotocorp

Abhishek Nayar, the Mumbai allrounder, will miss the upcoming Ranji game against Odisha after suffering ankle and hip injuries. In his absence, Wasim Jaffer will lead the side.

The Mumbai selection panel led by Deepak Jadhav had met on Tuesday and originally asked wicketkeeper Aditya Tare to lead the team. Tare was Nayar's deputy in Mumbai's last match, against Jharkhand, but it is understood that he told the selectors he was keen to focus on his game and was not yet ready to take on leadership duties. The selectors then turned to Jaffer, the seneior most player in the squad.

Earlier this month, Nayar was named Mumbai captain in place of Zaheer Khan, who was picked for the Test squad against South Africa. Nayar led the side in the game against Jharkhand earlier this week, during which he picked up his injury. He was the leading run-scorer for Mumbai in 2012-13 - when the team won the Ranji Trophy title for the 40th time - but has struggled for form this year, scoring 200 runs in five games at an average of 22.22 and has taken eight wickets.

Nayar's injury isn't the only concern for Mumbai. Pacer Akbar Khan, who made his debut this season against Vidarbha, has also been ruled out for the Odisha game after fracturing his hand in the match against Jharkhand.

Opener Kaustubh Pawar, who was dropped after a poor run of scores early in the season, has been recalled and Balwinder Singh Jr will replace Akbar Khan. Pacer Dhawal Kulkarni, who injured his toe earlier in the season, will be out of action for another two weeks.

Mumbai, however, are topping Group A with 20 points after six rounds.

Mumbai squad against Odisha: Wasim Jaffer (capt), Aditya Tare (wk), Kaustubh Pawar, Hiken Shah, Suryakumar Yadav, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (jr), Vishal Dabholkar, Siddhesh Lad, Javed Khan, Shardul Thakur, Kshemal Waingankar, Manish Rao, Pravin Tambe, Sagar Kerkar.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by Rumy1 on (December 16, 2013, 17:57 GMT)

Considering the requirements of lively tracks and the pace and bounce of South African pacers in their own backyard, skills, temperament, experience and form of Wasim Jaffer was required in SA. Jaffer should have been the first opener for the Johannesburg Test. He is still easily the best Test opener in India today. Steyn, Philander and Morkel will eat Murali Vijay in the first session itself. Johannesburg is the fastest track in SA and not sure if even Kohli has the technique to survive the trio of Steyn,Philander and Morkel on that track. At the moment only Pujara and Rohit seem to have the technique and temperament to cope with them. Jaffer was easily the first choice opener in Tests. Look at his record. Even this Ranji season, in 9 innings, he has three hundreds and a fifty. Easily the best Test / first class batsman in India today. Selectors can't ignore him now. It is high time. Enough is enough.And Jaffer is just 35. He still has three-four years of top level cricket left in him

Posted by Rodc on (December 12, 2013, 6:42 GMT)

i dontunderstand why not give chance to players like sarfraz khan ,arman jaffer or pritvi shaw.

Posted by tanstell87 on (December 11, 2013, 15:11 GMT)

how badly Mumbai would be missing Ajit Agarkar & Ramesh Powar....common champs play the khadus game...all the best

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days