Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group B, 7th round, 1st day December 14, 2013

Munaf, Yusuf put Baroda in command

ESPNcricinfo staff

Baroda 62 for 0 (Mistry 33*, Wakaskar 24*) trail Services 191 (Swain 62, Munaf 4-38, Yusuf 3-19) by 129 runs

Munaf Patel and Yusuf Pathan shared seven wickets between them to give Baroda the advantage on the first day against Services in Vadodara. While Munaf removed the top-order batsmen, Yusuf took three from the middle and lower order to restrict Services to 191.

Put in to bat, Services were rocked by two wickets in Munaf's consecutive overs as he removed the openers with the score on 23. He struck again in the 11th over, and Murtuja Vahora dismissed captain Rajat Paliwal at the other end for a 16-ball duck to leave the visitors struggling at 42 for 4. Yashpal Singh and Soumya Swain revived the innings with an 87-run stand, and struck fifties to take them past 100.

However, the partnership ended when Yashpal was stumped off Bhargav Bhatt for 58, and the left-arm spinner struck again six overs later to trap Vishnu Tiwari lbw for 8, leaving the score at 146 for 6. Swain resisted more at the other end to score 62, his second fifty of the season. Once he was caught behind off Yusuf with the score on 181, Services added only 10 more to their tally as Yusuf took the last two wickets to finish with 3 for 19.

Baroda were given a steady start by openers Saurabh Wakaskar and Dhiren Mistry, who were unbeaten till stumps on 24 and 33, leaving Baroda 129 behind Services.

Madhya Pradesh 342 for 2 (Jalaj 157*, Ojha 154) v Saurashtra

Naman Ojha struck his second successive hundred and fourth of the season, while Jalaj Saxena scored an unbeaten hundred as Madhya Pradesh piled on 342 runs for the loss of only two wickets against Saurashtra in Indore. Both batsmen scored over 150 and put on 307 runs for the second wicket to put MP in a strong position.

Saurashtra bowler Abhishek Bhatt struck in the tenth over, after his captain Jaydev Shah elected to bat, with the wicket of Satyam Choudhary with the score of 29. Jalaj and Ojha started their run-fest from there, batting for the next 78 overs. Jalaj's hundred was the seventh of his first-class career and Ojha scored his 13th to take MP past 200. Saurashtra's six bowlers proved ineffective against the batsmen as the stand was broken with Ojha's run-out for 154 in the 87th over. Jalaj stayed unbeaten on 157, along with Mohnish Mishra on 6, at stumps.

Tamil Nadu 200 for 8 (Prasanna 88*, Mali 3-29, Anureet 3-49,) v Railways

A half-century from R Prasanna took Tamil Nadu to 200 by the end of the day after Railways bowlers Anureet Singh and Ranjitkumar Mali took three wickets each on the first day. TN were reeling at 49 for 4 as Mali took three of the first five wickets before an unbeaten 88 from Prasanna saved them from being dismissed for a paltry score.

Railways made use of their opportunity to bowl after winning the toss as Anureet struck on the second ball of the match to trap Arun Karthik lbw for 0. Abhinav Mukund and S Badrinath survived the next 11 overs, but Mali had both of them caught behind, sending Dinesh Karthik back for 1 to put them in a precarious position. No. 6 Prasanna faced over 200 deliveries and revived the innings, first with B Aparajith, who scored 29 off 119, and then with L Balaji for the eighth wicket.

Bengal v Uttar Pradesh

UP make competitive 212 on greentop