Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group B, 7th round, 3rd day December 16, 2013

Jogiyani ton leads Saurashtra reply

ESPNcricinfo staff

Saurashtra 362 for 3 (Jogiyani 137*, Jackson 84, Pathak 81) trail Madhya Pradesh 619 for 8 dec by 257 runs

Saurashtra rallied from losing a wicket in the second over of the day's play through Sagar Jogiyani's unbeaten century but, despite a strong day's performance - 313 runs for the loss of three wickets - Madhya Pradesh are still a considerable distance ahead.

A misfiring Jogiyani - he had two fifty-plus scores and three single-figure scores coming into this game - lasted the entire day to record his sixth first-class century, replete with 18 fours and a six. Sheldon Jackson, who racked up a rapid 84, offered good support as the duo participated in a 152-run stand for the third wicket, which came on the back of another century stand between Jogiyani and opener Chirag Pathak who also made a useful half-century.

Should Saurashtra's quest to claim a first-innings lead come to fruition, they will tie with Bengal in third place in Group B, while Madhya Pradesh languish in eighth, after two losses and no wins.

Tamil Nadu 10 for 1 (Badrinath 4*, Anureet 1-3) and 246 lead Railways 169 (Karn 51, Balaji 4-31) by 87 runs

Persistent fog at Jamia Millia Ground limited play to only 23 overs in which time Railways were bundled out for 169 and Tamil Nadu sustained the loss of an early wicket.

Karn Sharma could only add one run to his overnight half-century and the final man in, Ranjitkumar Mali, resisted for 18 deliveries before he succumbed as well. Both were dismissed by the TN captain L Balaji as he finished with 4 for 31, his best figures this season.

Tamil Nadu's second innings received an unsavoury jolt and trundled along at less than one run per over after Abhinav Mukund was caught behind for 2 off pacer Anureet Singh who sported figures of 6-4-3-1 by the end of day's play.

Read the full report of Baroda v Services here: Munaf sends Services crashing for 31

Read the full report of Bengal v Uttar Pradesh here: Dinda ten-for scripts Bengal's first win