Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group A, 8th round, 2nd day

Venugopal puts Odisha under the cosh

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 23, 2013

Comments: 2 | Text size: A | A

Odisha 111 for 1 (Rout 39, Natraj Behera 64*) trail Gujarat 479 for 8 dec (Parthiv 109, Venugopal 177) by 368 runs

Maharashtra captain Venugopal Rao plays the ball to the leg side during his 112, Himachal Pradesh v Maharashtra, Ranji Trophy Super League, Group A, 3rd round, Dharamsala, 1st day, November 23, 2007
File photo: Venugopal Rao made 177 © ESPNcricinfo Ltd
Related Links
Series/Tournaments: Ranji Trophy | Indian Domestic Season

Venugopal Rao's dramatic resurgence continued as he made his third century of the season to put Gujarat in a strong position against Odisha in Ahmedabad. Resuming on 68, Rao powered on to a 277-ball 177, with 22 fours and two sixes, before his dismissal prompted Gujarat to declare at 479 for 8.

Odisha began well in pursuit, with Girjia Rout putting on 111 with Natraj Behera for the first wicket before falling lbw to Jasprit Bumrah off the last ball of the day. Natraj, batting on 64 at stumps, remained on course for a fourth century in as many innings.

Vidarbha 101 for 1 (Fazal 41*) trail Jharkhand 332 (Nemat 85, Deobrat 69, Jaggi 52, Wakhare 5-82) by 231 runs

With their highest run-getter, Faiz Fazal, batting on 41, Vidarbha remained in the hunt to take the lead against Jharkhand at Keenan Stadium. Vidarbha were 101 for 1 at stumps, still trailing by 231.

In the morning, offspinner Akshay Wakhare completed a five-wicket haul as Jharkhand took 51.2 overs to crawl from their overnight score of 233 for 5 to 332 all out. After Wakhare dismissed Shahbaz Nadeem early in the day for 45, the tail provided stodgy support to Kumar Deobrat. Between them, Jharkhand's last four scored 26 off 171 balls. Deobrat moved to a relatively breakneck 69 off 159, with seven fours and two sixes, before he was out to left-arm spinner Sumit Ruikar.

Read the full report of Karnataka v Mumbai here: Lad revives Mumbai with half-century.

Read the full report of the Delhi v Punjab here: Jiwanjot turns it around for Punjab.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (December 23, 2013, 15:12 GMT)

All The Best Team Odisha And Natraj Behera. Odisha have a strong Batting Line up.. ABhilas, Biplab, Gobind... And Co...

Posted by vik56in on (December 23, 2013, 13:51 GMT)

Venugopal Rao is technically the best batsman in India after Chetashwer Puajara.He is also a very good fielder.He should be given an India cap in Tests .

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days