Ranji Trophy 2013-14, Group A, final round, 2nd day

Nair, Binny help Karnataka take lead

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 31, 2013

Comments: 2 | Text size: A | A

Karnataka 226 for 5 (Nair 92*, Binny 88) lead Delhi 202 (Vinay Kumar 4-40) by 24 runs

Rahul Dewan made an unbeaten 77 having opened the batting, Haryana v England XI, tour match, Ahmedabad, 2nd day, November 9, 2012
File photo: Rahul Dewan hit 19 fours during his unbeaten 136 © AFP
Related Links

Fifties from opener Karun Nair and Stuart Binny helped Karnataka take a first-innings lead after they were struggling at 73 for 4 against Delhi.

Nair and Binny added 127 for the fifth wicket after Rajat Bhatia, Ashish Nehra and Varun Sood struck early on the second morning. The pair brought up the partnership in 30.4 overs, with Binny smacking seven fours and six sixes on his way to a 94-ball 88. Nair, on the other hand, played a more sedate innings, taking 195 balls for his unbeaten 92, the batsman's maiden-first class fifty.

Delhi's bowlers managed just one breakthrough after their early haul, as Nehra dismissed Binny a few minutes before close of play, with Karnataka three runs short of the first-innings lead. Nair then played out the remaining overs with Shreyas Gopal as Karnataka finished at 226 for 5.

Haryana 294 for 2 (Dewan 136*, Rana 83*) lead Odisha 242 (Rout 94, Mishra 4-83) by 52 runs

Haryana's hopes of avoiding relegation to Group C received a major boost on Tuesday, as their opener Rahul Dewan's unbeaten century helped the team secure a first-innings lead against Odisha in Bhubaneswar.

Dewan struck 19 fours during his 136 not out, and added 143 for the opening wicket with Avi Barot as Haryana began their innings strongly. Barot made his way to 60, with seven fours and a six, before falling to Niranjan Behera. Niranjan delivered another blow soon after, dismissing Sunny Singh for 6, as Odisha tried to claw their way back into the game.

Dewan, however, put up another big partnership - an unbroken 141 for the third wicket with Sachin Rana - to take the visitors to 294 for 2, with a first-innings lead of 52 to carry into the penultimate day. Rana himself contributed 83, blasting eight fours and four sixes.

Odisha, who themselves need at least a point to stay from going down, had begun the day at 221 for 9, but could add only 21 to that score, as Deepak Behera fell for 33 to end the team's innings at 242.

Jharkhand 210 for 9 (Nemat 81, Jaggi 51, Gurkeerat 4-36) trail Punjab 516 (Vohra 187, Jiwanjot 78) by 306 runs

Punjab made good progress in their quest to qualify for the quarter-finals, after making 516 in the first innings and reducing Jharkhand to 210 for 9 on the second day in Dhanbad.

Punjab, who began at 380 for 4, lost Mandeep Singh early for 45, but were buoyed by a sixth-wicket stand of 66 between Siddarth Kaul and Gurkeerat Singh. Kaul hit five fours and two sixes before eventually being dismissed for 50 in the 110th over. For Jharkhand, Shahbaz Nadeem picked up four wickets but went for 165 runs from his 39.5 overs.

The hosts, in reply, were comfortable at 173 for 2 thanks to Rameez Nemat's 81 and Ishank Jaggi's 51, but Nemat's wicket in the 46th over triggered a collapse and Jharkhand lost the next seven wickets for just 37 runs. Gurkeerat and Rajwinder Singh shared eight wickets between them for Punjab.

Read the full report of the Gujarat v Mumbai match here: Abdulla takes six, but Mumbai in trouble

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (December 31, 2013, 19:24 GMT)

Stuart Binny's good performance this season has earned him call for national team, good luck yo him..

Posted by   on (December 31, 2013, 14:28 GMT)

Sad that the Karnataka middle order has collapsed again. If the team can't fire in unision, they may have a problem in play-off. I wonder what the team is doing with passengers like Ganesh Satish and CM Gautam. They are resting on previous laurels

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Tournament Results
Karnataka v Maharashtra at Hyderabad (Deccan) - Jan 29-Feb 2, 2014
Karnataka won by 7 wickets
Punjab v Karnataka at Mohali - Jan 18-22, 2014
Match drawn (Karnataka won on 1st innings)
Bengal v Maharashtra at Indore - Jan 18-20, 2014
Maharashtra won by 10 wickets
Bengal v Railways at Kolkata - Jan 8-12, 2014
Bengal won by 48 runs
Karnataka v U. Pradesh at Bangalore - Jan 8-11, 2014
Karnataka won by 92 runs
Mumbai v Maharashtra at Mumbai - Jan 8-11, 2014
Maharashtra won by 8 wickets
Punjab v J + K at Vadodara - Jan 8-11, 2014
Punjab won by 100 runs
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days