Madhya Pradesh v Assam, Ranji Plate League, Indore, 1st day

Pitre and Dholpure skittle out Assam for 96

Cricinfo staff

November 20, 2008

Text size: A | A

Madhya Pradesh 150 for 2 (Bundela 60*, Kantikar 34*) lead Assam 96 (Pitre 5-35, Dholpure 3-38) by 54 runs

Shantanu Pitre and Sunil Dholpure took eight wickets between them to knock over Assam for 96 on day one in Indore. An unbeaten half-century from Devendra Bundela gave Madhya Pradesh a lead of 54 by stumps, with eight wickets remaining.

Assam and MP were playing their third-round match which was postponed to accommodate India's second ODI against England at the venue on November 17. Five Assam batsmen were dismissed for ducks and Jacob Martin's 36 was the highest score of the innings. Though Dholpure and Pitre did most of the damage, it was Sanjay Pandey who set it up for them with two wickets in the first over of the day. He had Nishanta Bordoloi caught off the second ball and Rashmi Parida bowled off the fifth to reduce Assam to 0 for 2. Assam crawled to 47 in 19 overs before Pitre broke the innings' highest partnership by dismissing Sibsankar Roy for 21. Martin took 10 in the next over but lost his partner Deepak Sharma - who edged Dholpure to the keeper for a duck - off the last ball. Assam made their way to 61 but lost three wickets in three overs without adding to the total. The tail-enders hung on for 14.5 overs before Pitre ended their misery by dismissing Ranjitkumar Mali for 5.

The MP openers put up 49 - more than half of Assam's total before Krishna Das struck twice in three overs - Himalaya Sagar was caught for 35, while Jatin Saxena was lbw for 15. Kantikar and Bundela went on to add 96 runs before stumps were drawn.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Tournament Results
Bengal v Goa at Delhi - Dec 18-21, 2008
Match drawn
H. Pradesh v M. Pradesh at Nagpur - Dec 18-21, 2008
H. Pradesh won by an innings and 175 runs
Haryana v J + K at Rohtak - Dec 12-15, 2008
J + K won by 44 runs
Jharkhand v Kerala at Jamshedpur - Dec 12-15, 2008
Kerala won by 8 wickets
Services v Assam at Delhi - Dec 12-15, 2008
Assam won by 6 wickets
Tripura v M. Pradesh at Agartala - Dec 12-15, 2008
Match drawn
Vidarbha v Bengal at Nagpur - Dec 12-15, 2008
Match drawn
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days