Ranji Trophy Plate League 2009-10, semi-finals, 4th day December 18, 2009

Assam and Haryana make the grade

Cricinfo staff

Assam 327 and 132 for 5 (Jadhav 49*, Shankara Rao 3-44) beat Andhra 214 and 241 (Watekar 59, Bahutule 6-61) by five wickets

Sairaj Bahutule continued to spin a web around Andhra on the final day to ensure that Assam completed a five-wicket victory against Andhra in Guwahati. Resuming 40 runs ahead with five wickets standing, the visitors had no answer to Bahutule's turn on the last day. He picked four wickets to finish with an innings haul of six and ensure there was no lower-order defiance from Andhra. Chasing a tricky target of 129, Assam suffered a few anxious moments when they were reduced to 67 for 4. But Dhiraj Jadhav followed up his first-innings heroics with a responsible 49 to lead his team to victory . Assam's win seals a place in next year's Super League as well as a quarter-final berth this season, where they will encounter Uttar Pradesh. Crucially, Assam will have the home advantage in that match.

Haryana 265 and 478 for 6 dec (Rana 163*, Rawat 114 retd.,) drew with Tripura 193

Sachin Rana and Ankit Rawat struck hundreds on the last day to ensure that Haryana secured a draw against Tripura in Rohtak. Having conceded the first-innings lead, Tripura needed to enforce an outright win, a possibility that existed at the start of the day with the hosts 260 runs ahead with five wickets remaining. However, their hopes were quashed by contrasting centuries from Rana and Rawat. Rana was the aggressor, hitting 14 fours and a couple of sixes in his unbeaten 163 while Rawat was resolute in defense, batting nearly 400 minutes for his 114 before he was forced to retire hurt. By then, the draw was a formality, a result that pitchforked Haryana into the big league for next year. Before that they will face Mumbai in the quarter-finals at home.