Ranji Trophy 2010-11, Plate League, 1st round, 3rd day November 3, 2010

Rajasthan complete rout of Hyderabad

ESPNcricinfo staff

Deepak Chahar sealed a dream debut with a Man-of-the-Match award as Rajasthan completed a clinical demolition of Hyderabad at the at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, taking just 15 overs on the third morning to register victory by an innings and 256 runs. Starting the day on 64 for 6, Syed Quadri and Munagala Arjun provided some resistance in adding a further 30 runs, before Quadri was snapped up by Pankaj Singh for 27. Arjun battled until the end, being the last man to fall, bowled by Sumit Mathur for a top score of 33, as Rajasthan folded for 126. Chahar picked up four second-innings wickets to finish with match with figures of 12 for 64

Medium pacer Varun Aaron was Man of the Match as Jharkhand beat Tripura by an innings and 131 runs at the Maharaja Bir Bikram College Stadium in Agartala. Tripura started the day on 50 for 4 and promptly lost captain Rajib Dutta, caught behind off Aaron, who finished with match figures of 7 for 53. Timir Chandra and Subal Chowdhury showed some fight in making 30 and 16 respectively, but there was only ever going to be one result. Samar Quadri took 4 for 22 from eight overs as Tripura were bowled out for 131.

Ankit Bawane's highest first-class score carried Maharashtra to 604 against Jammu & Kashmir at the Gandhi Memorial Science College Ground in Jammu, giving them a huge first innings lead of 322. J&K managed to whittle the deficit down to 188 by the close of play for the loss of two wickets, with Arshad Butt completing a sedate half-century. The 17-year-old Bawane and captain Rohit Motwani took their partnership to 127 before Motwani fell to Abid Nabi for a well made 66, studded with seven fours. Ganesh Gaekwad shepherded the lower order after Bawane fell, trapped leg before by Abid Nabi for 159, and put on 66 with Digambar Waghmare. Gaekwad's fluent innings came to an end when Samiullah Beigh had him caught behind for 51 from 70 balls. Beigh was J&K's most successful bowler, taking 4 for 131 from 31 overs.

Goa's top order redeemed itself after a first innings collapse against Madhya Pradesh at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. Sagun Kamat and Swapnil Asnodkar began the job of wiping out MP's 158-run lead by adding 85 for the first wicket. After Kamat fell for 50, Asnodkar and Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan took Goa into the lead with a 111-run partnership. Neither could kick on to make three-figures, however, as first Vidyut fell for 58, and then Asnodkar for a measured 84 off 232 balls spanning over five hours at the crease. Ajay Ratra and Rahul Keni batted out the rest of the day to take Goa to 268 for 3, a lead of 110.

Soumyaranjan Swain and captain Yashpal Singh both made unbeaten half-centuries as Services ended the third day of their match against Kerala at the Model Sports Complex in Delhi on 237 for 3, still trailing by 217 runs with one day to go. The pair came together after opener Pratick Desai fell to Raiphi Gomez for 55, and proceeded to nudge the ball around in a 124-run stand. Swain scored at a slightly quicker pace than his partner, his 89 taking 222 balls, while Yashpal needed 163 deliveries for his 57. Medium-pacer Sony Cheruvathur, who made his first fifty yesterday, picked up 2 for 30 from 16 overs.

Led by their openers, Vidarbha posted a strong reply to Andhra Pradesh's first innings total of 370, ending the day on 265 for 3 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground in Nagpur, giving them a good chance of taking that all-important first-innings lead. Amit Paunikar and Akshay Kolhar, a pair of 22-year-olds, began the day by grinding down the bowlers in a 170-run opening stand that took 64.2 overs. Unfortunately for Vidarbha, they lost their wickets within four runs of each other. Paunikar was the first to go, falling to David Vijaykumar eleven short of a hundred, having faced 208 balls and struck 13 fours. Kolhar followed three overs later, caught behind off Venugopal Rao for 74. A third wicket, Alind Naidu, followed, but Amit Deshpande and Shalabh Shrivastava ensured there were no more hiccups before stumps.