Ranji Trophy Plate League, semi-finals, 3rd day

Rajasthan strike after Chopra triple ton

ESPNcricinfo staff

December 17, 2010

Comments: 2 | Text size: A | A

Three wickets stand between Rajasthan and the quarter-finals as they reduced Maharashtra to 280 for 7 in Nasik, after declaring on a mammoth 641. Aakash Chopra, unbeaten on 262 overnight, duly completed his first triple hundred, remaining unbeaten on 301. Chopra's marathon effort lasted over 13-and-a-half hours, took 582 deliveries, and contained 36 fours and three sixes. After being in the field for more than two days, the strain showed on Maharashtra's batsmen as most of them got out after getting starts. Deepak Chahar got Rajasthan the breakthrough with a double strike in the tenth over, sending back Harshad Khadiwale and bowling Swapnil Gugale. Sangram Atitkar (42) resisted briefly before Pankaj Singh and Chahar struck to reduce Maharashtra to 149 for 6. Nikhil Paradkar led a recovery with an unbeaten half-century, but Rajasthan are still ahead by 361 runs, and firm favourites to progress to the Super League.

Madhya Pradesh had their noses in front going in to the final day in Indore, as Andhra finished on 284 for 9, giving them a lead of just 173. Andhra, having no choice but to go for quick runs in order to set a target, were anchored by B Sumanth, who remained unbeaten on 85. Shankara Rao made a half-century while Venugopal Rao and Hemal Watekar chipped in with thirties. Andhra rattled along at close to five an over, but also kept losing wickets regularly, mainly to MP's opening combination of TP Sudhindra and Anand Rajan. Ankit Sharma (68) had earlier added useful runs to extend MP's lead past 100, before they were bowled out for 341, a lead that could prove vital in the final analysis.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Posted by   on (December 18, 2010, 7:11 GMT)

rajasthan will be champion in new season as we got the power

Posted by   on (December 18, 2010, 2:41 GMT)

Wow..Great Chopra..you were funtastic to watch

Comments have now been closed for this article

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
Related Links
Players/Officials: Aakash Chopra | Bodapati Sumanth
Teams: India
Tournament Results
M. Pradesh v Andhra at Indore - Dec 15-18, 2010
M. Pradesh won by 9 wickets
Maharashtra v Rajasthan at Nasik - Dec 15-18, 2010
Match drawn
Andhra v Kerala at Anantapur - Dec 8-11, 2010
Andhra won by an innings and 75 runs
Goa v Tripura at Porvorim - Dec 8-11, 2010
Tripura won by 7 wickets
Hyderabad v M. Pradesh at Hyderabad - Dec 8-11, 2010
Match drawn
J + K v Vidarbha at Jammu - Dec 8-11, 2010
Vidarbha won by 8 wickets
Rajasthan v Jharkhand at Udaipur - Dec 8-11, 2010
Match drawn
Services v Maharashtra at Delhi - Dec 8-11, 2010
Match drawn
More results »
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days