Indian domestic cricket December 12, 2008

Raju resigns as Orissa coach

Cricinfo staff

Basanth Mohanty and Debasis Mohanty have been Orissa's stand-out performers this season © Cricinfo Ltd

Venkatapathy Raju, the former Indian spinner, has resigned as Orissa coach citing personal reasons. He had taken the job at the beginning of the season and his decision leaves Orissa without a coach for their final two games of the Ranji Trophy.

"There were a few problems at home and it was difficult for me to manage things sitting in Orissa," he said. "Besides, I am the acting vice-president of the Hyderabad Cricket Association, so to attend the state of affairs I had to leave coaching." Raju is also a part of the Hyderabad selection committee besides working with 18-year-old left-arm spinner Lalith Mohan.

Orissa are currently in sixth place in Group A of the Super League, with only one win in five matches, and their batsmen have only managed one century so far. "They have their main strength in bowling as Debu (Debasis Mohanty) is still very lethal and to back the veteran are the young crop of bowlers like Basanth Mohanty and left-arm fast bowler Preetamjit Das," he said. "I am sure Orissa will do well with more exposure. They just have to improve on their batting."

Asked whether there was a chance he would return, Raju said he would consider the Orissa Cricket Association's request to coach its academies next year.