What did you think of 2013 in cricket?

As fans, you drive the game. So as another year of cricket with its sagas, crises, triumphs and losses has come to a close, we want to know what you thought about it all
January 5, 2014

Poll

Were you happy with the back-to-back Ashes?
See results »

During the second Test in Dubai between Pakistan and South Africa, cameras caught Faf du Plessis rubbing the ball on the zipper of his trousers. He pleaded guilty to the charge of ball-tampering and the ICC decided to ban zips on kit from 2015.

Poll

Did you think the du Plessis tampering incident was handled fairly?
See results »

India and South Africa lost two of their biggest players this year.

Poll

Do you think Sachin Tendulkar and Jacques Kallis timed their retirements well?
See results »

After the thrilling draw in Johannesburg between India and South Africa, many regretted that the series between the Nos. 1 and 2 sides in the world was a shortened affair.

Poll

Did you feel robbed by India's shortened tour of South Africa?
See results »

Cricket will be competing with the football World Cup in Brazil this year.

Poll

What is the one thing you would like cricket administrators to focus on in 2014?
See results »

There seems to be no end to fixing in cricket, with two high-profile players charged with bringing the game to disrepute in 2013.

Poll

Does news of fixing make you stop wanting to watch cricket?
See results »

Sreesanth was banned for life for his involvement in spot-fixing in the IPL.

Poll

How do you think cricket should tackle corruption?
See results »

There were also plenty of transgressions against the "spirit of cricket" this year.

Poll

Is a batsman cheating if he does not walk after nicking the ball?
See results »

If the spirit of cricket is not part of the laws, then why berate players for not following it?

Poll

Do you believe the spirit of cricket ought to be codified into the laws?
See results »

Sledging took an ugly turn when Michael Clarke was heard telling batsman James Anderson to get ready for a broken arm in Brisbane.

Poll

Should sledging be left on the field with the players?
See results »

Amid all the controversy, it was a year worth savouring for the performances on the field.

Poll

What did you enjoy most in cricket in 2013?
See results »

Posted by   on (January 6, 2014, 6:35 GMT)

Tendulkar averaged over 50 in the period of 2006-2013. #JustSaying

Posted by swarzi on (January 5, 2014, 21:54 GMT)

The questionnaire was poorly constructed. Why link Tendulkar's retirement with that of Kallis? Tendulkar should have been asked to retire since 2006; but Kallis still had a few years of cricket left in him at his retirement!

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 20:45 GMT)

2013 in my opinion is heading towards next generation cricketing war for upcoming decade. And in which India will be superpower of cricket. After Sachin, young Indian team is looking tremendous promising, as in 2013 we witnessed some extraordinary performance of young Indian side. Rohit, Virat & Shikhar scored 1000+ runs in ODIs. Rohit smashed magnificent 200+ against Aussies with world record of 16 sixes in an ODI inning. Rohit also scored back to back 100s in his test debute. Virat & Pujara scored centuries in SA. Rahane too getting his rhythm. Overall Indian youngsters are looking the best. No matter we lost against SA 0-1. It is understandable for the test team which is totally new. In 2014 we are playing all tests in overseas. And I am sure this Indian team will give tough fight to everybody. NZ, Aussies, England, whoever be the opponents. India will play extraordinary cricket. All the best team India.

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 13:54 GMT)

2013 year will be remembered forever because two top players SRT200 Sachin and Kallis bid adeu to cricket with great dignity and distinction and cricket will never be same without these two top top players in history of Cricket

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 13:49 GMT)

Do you think sachin and kallis retirement on time? These are two different questions. Shame. You should correct it.

Kallis did it well. and sachin was out of form and should have retired after WC. Even WC was a stretching point.

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 13:02 GMT)

"Do you think Sachin Tendulkar and Jacques Kallis timed their retirements well?" It was a silly question, i have different opinions for kallis and sachin. Sachin was out of form for 3-4 years, kallis only one year.

Posted by ultrasnow on (January 5, 2014, 11:03 GMT)

You really need to let your readers choose 'None Of The Above' !!!!

Posted by RyanHarrisGreatCricketer on (January 5, 2014, 9:06 GMT)

Did Root really succeed??

What about the fact that he was ultimately dropped after a poor ashes tour?

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 6:35 GMT)

the english our of new zealand early last year was very exciting, even if there werent great results one way or another. i was sad there wasnt a question like "what, if anything should be done about DRS?" or "what do you think of the recent changes to the DRS?"

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 6:19 GMT)

The biggest worry for me is the rising inequality between cricketing nations. india england and aus are too dominant and other nations like wi sri lanka zim, pak nz, ban and evan sa are becoming weak in world cricket. of course india eng and aus are more financilly powerful but please ICC at least try to schedule equal tests and ODIs between all full member countries. you can see this india aus and eng play 4-5 test series each other frequently but other countries never play 4-5 test series execpt sa.(rarely) sa are no. 1 in tests but still they have a light test schedule in 2014. what a joke. we as fans need more from the no. 1 test side in the world.

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 5:22 GMT)

nice questions but i definately enjoy Pakistan ODI series win over South Africa in South Africa. It was historical performance by Pakistani team their first ever win in SA. Awesome.

Sad year because my two top favorate players SRT200 Sachin and Kallis are retired with great dignity and distinction and cricket will never be same without these two top top players in history of Cricket.

I also like how Pakistan won a test match through great luck against SA in UAE and then went on to lose next Test match against SA in UAE. That was good series.

Posted by espncricinfomobile on (January 5, 2014, 5:20 GMT)

To me, personally, the disappointment of 2013 was the series India played against the West Indies. Sachin the champion needed a fitting send off but not against a team that is hardly inspiring. As a fan, I would have savoured one last Sachin versus Steyn. The most inspiring moment was the rise of Rajasthan Royals, like the proverbial phoenix, post match fixing allegations, to finish runners up in the IPL.

Posted by Testcricketistop on (January 5, 2014, 4:43 GMT)

Agree with Jonah, the Kallis and Tendulkar question is loaded.

The one batsman waited about two years too long whereas the other timed it perfectly.

You can work it out for yourself who is who.

Posted by   on (January 5, 2014, 4:29 GMT)

Most of the questions do not have proper definitive answers. the answers are vague, the poll is a good one but some of questions mentioned are not quite important

Posted by WC96QF on (January 5, 2014, 4:23 GMT)

This poll is a very good idea, serves as fans' feedback and review forum for 2014. I hope more ppl take part and more impt., the powers that be pay attention!

Posted by IndianEagle on (January 5, 2014, 4:03 GMT)

few questions do not have proper option, so this pool is not that worth

Posted by Jonah58 on (January 5, 2014, 3:08 GMT)

Why were Kallis and Tendulkar linked in the same question? And Afghanistan began their rise long before 2013, perhaps the continued rise of Afghanistan but surely the question should have been the rise of PNG, Hong Kong and Nepal which yes does deserve praise

Comments have now been closed for this article

Images of the year

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

More in 2013 review

How closely did you follow cricket in 2013? Take Steven Lynch's quiz

STEVEN ASKS