Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Broom returns as New Zealand opt to bat

Toss New Zealand chose to bat v BangladeshLive scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, decided to bat in the first ODI against Bangladesh at Hagley Oval. He said he wanted to harness scoreboard pressure in the second half with a three-man pace attack, Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson.

The big news for Bangladesh was the return of Mustafizur Rahman, playing his first international match since March. Soumya Sarkar also came back, since he was dropped against England in October. Therefore there was no ODI debut for Tanbir Hayder or Mehedi Hasan and no place for seamers Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy.

Neil Broom found a place in the New Zealand ODI side for the first time in more than six years. In 2015-16, he topped the run charts in the List A competition, the Ford Trophy, scoring 508 runs in nine matches with three centuries and two fifties.

There was, however, no place for Matt Henry and Colin de Grandhomme.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Neil Broom, 5 Colin Munro, 6 Luke Ronchi (wk), 7 James Neesham, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mosaddek Hossain, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Bangladesh 2nd innings Partnerships

1st34Tamim IqbalImrul Kayes
2nd14Tamim IqbalSoumya Sarkar
3rd0MahmudullahTamim Iqbal
4th33Shakib Al HasanTamim Iqbal
5th63Mushfiqur RahimShakib Al Hasan
6th23Mushfiqur RahimSabbir Rahman
7th52Mushfiqur RahimMosaddek Hossain
7th23Mashrafe MortazaMosaddek Hossain
8th10Taskin AhmedMosaddek Hossain
9th12Mustafizur RahmanMosaddek Hossain