Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Day 5

111dThe Bulletin by Kanishkaa Balachandran

Brave Bangladesh fall 107 short

Bangladesh fell 107 short of pulling off the most miraculous of chases as Sri Lanka clawed back after lunch to seal a victory

111dCricinfo staff

Jayawardene praises Bangladesh fight

Mahela Jayawardene, the Sri Lanka captain, said his team were fortunate to have the cushion of a 500-plus lead against Banglades

Day 4

454dThe Bulletin by Kanishkaa Balachandran

Ashraful takes contest into fifth day

A face-saving partnership of 74 for the sixth wicket between Mohammad Ashraful and Shakib Al Hasan ensured Bangladesh put up a fight chasing an improbable target of 521

454dCricinfo staff

'We need only two wickets' - Dilshan

Bangladesh, led by their captain Mohammad Ashraful, may have extended the first Test against Sri Lankans to the fifth day in Mirpur, but the visitors are confident of winning

Day 3

454dThe Bulletin by Kanishkaa Balachandran

Jayawardene puts Sri Lanka in dominant position

A fine hundred by Mahela Jayawardene and half-centuries by Kumar Sangakkara and Thilan Samaraweera effectively shut Bangladesh out of the match as Sri Lanka extended their lead to an imposing 406

Day 2

454dThe Bulletin by Kanishkaa Balachandran

Muralitharan hastens Bangladesh collapse

Muttiah Muralitharan continued his utter domination of Bangladesh, taking 5 for 48 - his 11th five-for against them - to leave the home team struggling at 177 for 9, still 116 behind Sri Lanka's first-innings total of 293

454dBrydon Coverdale at the MCG

Vicious after Christmas

South Africa's batsmen struggled through one of the more ferocious spells of the summer as Peter Siddle finished the day with 3 for 24 from 13 overs

Day 1

454dCricinfo staff

Shakib strikes leave SL in trouble

Shakib Al Hasan took three wickets, including the prized ones of Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, to rattle Sri Lanka on the first day in Mirpur


Bangladesh 4th innings Partnerships

1st40Tamim IqbalImrul Kayes
2nd32Junaid SiddiqueTamim Iqbal
3rd52Junaid SiddiqueRaqibul Hasan
4th20Mohammad AshrafulRaqibul Hasan
5th36Mohammad AshrafulMehrab Hossain jnr
6th112Mohammad AshrafulShakib Al Hasan
7th111Mushfiqur RahimShakib Al Hasan
8th6Mashrafe MortazaMushfiqur Rahim
9th2Mushfiqur RahimMahbubul Alam
10th2Shahadat HossainMahbubul Alam