26.6 that's his debut wicket....Pitches in line with legstump from over the wicket, it comes on straight and Gayle pokes forward to defend, he's hit in line with the stumps and Taufel is convinced 109/2
    13.3 pitches fractionally outside the line of legstump, Smith shapes to flick it to the on side but the ball skids through and traps him on the pad, umpire Duncan is convinced 53/1
    27.4 the bowling change works! Kulasekara pitches it fractionally outside the line off offstump and gets it to move away, Sarwan tamely tries to steer that towards third man but gets a thick edge to Sangakkara. His foot movement was minimal 109/3
    27.6 Sri Lanka claw back quickly.... Kulasekara pitches that outside the line of offstump and gets it to seam back inwards after pitching, Samuels gets across his stumps but is very lazy on the stroke, the ball skids through and hits him in line of middle and leg, umpire Duncan raises the finger 110/4
    not out
    38.1 terrible mixup.... Dilshan delivers from round the wicket, Chanderpaul works it against the turn to short fine-leg, Bravo eyes a single and charges down the track, Chanderpaul was looking at Jayawardene who fired in the throw to the keeper, Sangakkara fired the throw to the bowler but by then, both batsmen were at the same end 169/5
    44.4 Flighted on middle and leg, Browne tries to go downtown again and this time he fails to clear the fielder, Mendis at long-on runs to his left and catches it 201/6
    45.4 the flipper! Sammy is totally squared up at the crease as the ball lands on offstump and skids through and whips the top of offstump. Mendis is quite a revelation already 203/7
    47.6 Rush of blood.... Mendis dishes out another legbreak, Taylor stays at the crease and tries to repeat the slog which fetched him the six but he lands it down Silva's throat at long-on 219/8
    48.5 Benn's nightmare ends, the ball is full on off stump, Benn finally connects, he swings across the line and Jayawardene at midwicket has a shy at the stumps and hits, Taufel doesn't bother to call for the replay 219/9
    not out
    10 (lb 1, w 9)
    236/9 (50 Overs, RR: 4.72)
    Fall of wickets: 1-53 (DS Smith, 13.3 ov), 2-109 (CH Gayle, 26.6 ov), 3-109 (RR Sarwan, 27.4 ov), 4-110 (MN Samuels, 27.6 ov), 5-169 (DJ Bravo, 38.1 ov), 6-201 (PA Browne, 44.4 ov), 7-203 (DJG Sammy, 45.4 ov), 8-219 (JE Taylor, 47.6 ov), 9-219 (SJ Benn, 48.5 ov)
    WPUJC Vaas10.043003.00432100
    KMDN Kulasekara10.004334.30438010
    MKDI Amerasinghe7.005608.00207220
    BAW Mendis10.013933.90370220
    CK Kapugedera7.004105.85184020
    TM Dilshan6.002614.33160100

Match Notes