Player of the Match
Player of the Match
    7.3 And they continue to combust. Banged in short, at the body and Hafeez pulls it limply to square leg. Ntini has got all the three wickets. 37/3
    3.3 What a reflex catch by Kemp at short cover. Imran drilled a fullish delivery on the off stump to left of Kemp - that was travelling at some rate - who manages to catch it with both hands. Blinder. 18/1
    5.4 Ntini drags back the length and is immediately rewarded. Short in length, gets extra bounce even as it holds its line outside off and Younis stabs at it, bat away from the body, and can only manage to get a edge to Boucher. 30/2
    35.1 Kallis strikes right away. Off cutter, full and on the middle and off, Yousuf leaned forward only to whip it straight to Smith at midwicket. 152/6
    11.5 Ntini strikes again. The pattern continues. Two boundaries and out. It landed short in length, on the middle and leg and Malik tried to clip it across but instead, got a leading edge to cover. 55/4
    20.5 And the bouncer does the trick now. It was part of the plan. It was banged in short, rearing up at the head and Misbah was late on the pull shot and top-edged a dolly to Boucher who ran back a few paces to take it. 92/5
    37.6 Done in by the slower one. Akmal charged out and completely missed a heave across the line. 172/7
    45.4 Afridi is gone. Pakistan's hopes sink. Full pitched on the stumps, Afridi backed away and heaved it straight to long-on. Gone. What a fab innings it was though. Brutal, as ever, and he did scare a few South Africans. 246/9
    42.1 The leg stump has been pegged back. Sohail shuffled across the sticks to whip another delivery over square leg but missed it completely. Useful cameo from Sohail. 215/8
    46.3 Game over. SA have won. Rao went down the track, drove to long-off and turned blind for the second. He was sent back by Gul but slipped as he turned back. Botha did the final rites and SA have taken the first ODI. 249/10
    not out
    6 (b 1, lb 1, w 4)
    249 all out (46.3 Overs, RR: 5.35)
    Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Imran Nazir, 3.3 ov), 2-30 (Younis Khan, 5.4 ov), 3-37 (Mohammad Hafeez, 7.3 ov), 4-55 (Shoaib Malik, 11.5 ov), 5-92 (Misbah-ul-Haq, 20.5 ov), 6-152 (Mohammad Yousuf, 35.1 ov), 7-172 (Kamran Akmal, 37.6 ov), 8-215 (Sohail Tanvir, 42.1 ov), 9-246 (Shahid Afridi, 45.4 ov), 10-249 (Iftikhar Anjum, 46.3 ov)
    SM Pollock10.023003.00413000
    M Ntini9.006947.66279100
    CK Langeveldt9.005325.88287020
    JA Morkel6.001813.00200000
    J Botha7.303004.00211000
    JH Kallis5.004729.40113320

Match Notes