Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Match Centre

Scorer: Kumar Chandan | Commentator: Devashish Fuloria

India B progress to the final of the Challenger Trophy after a 21-run win over Bengal. Cheteshwar Pujara has been named Man of the Match for his second successive hundred, a well-controlled innings where he took his time before exploding right at the tail-end of the innings. Praveen Kumar, however, was the batsman who made a difference for India B with an explosive half-century.

In response, Bengal were all at sea for the first few overs, but Wriddhiman Saha played another special innings to help Bengal get this far. He was helped along the way by the impressive youngster Sandipan Das, who scored a half-century along with the five wickets he picked up during India B's innings. A late assault by Debabrata Das threatened to shake India B of their seemingly stable perch, but unfortunately for Bengal, he ran out of partners. Munaf Patel used all his experience towards the end of the innings to intimidate the tail-enders with short-pitched stuff and accounted for four wickets, while Debabrata remained stuck at non-striker's end when big runs were needed.

The final will take place tomorrow and promises to be a cracking game between two evenly matched sides. Thank you for staying with us for this match. This is Devashish Fuloria signing off for now. Cheerios.

Kumar to Saxena, OUT, and that is the match, full ball outside off and Saxena drives it straight to Pujara at short cover

I Saxena c Pujara b Kumar 0 (4m 3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00

Kumar to DB Das, 1 run, full toss outside off, driven straight to long off this time
Kumar to DB Das, 2 runs, full straight ball, driven straight to the left of long on
Kumar to DB Das, 1 wide, full outside off
Kumar to DB Das, 2 runs, full toss, above waist height again, and Das swings at it and the balls goes high towards deep midwicket who fails to get to the ball. No no ball signalled? That was surely above the waist

49 | 1 Run 1 Wkt | BENG: 301/9 (28 runs required from 6 balls, RR: 6.14, RRR: 28.00)

  • I Saxena0 (2b)
  • DB Das44 (24b)
  • MM Patel11-1-39-4
  • P Kumar9-3-54-1

Four wickets for Munaf after an ordinary first match. He has used the bounce available on the pitch to really test the tail-enders

Patel to Saxena, no run, slow and full, the batsman drives it to point

Bengal 2nd innings Partnerships

1st14SP GoswamiJJ Basu
2nd7SP GoswamiSandipan Das
3rd140WP SahaSandipan Das
4th22LR ShuklaWP Saha
5th37SG DasWP Saha
6th8SG DasDB Das
7th47DB DasAA Nandi
8th24DB DasRavikant Singh
9th2DB DasV Pratap Singh
10th6I SaxenaDB Das