Player of the Match
Player of the Match

4th Match, ICC KnockOut, India v Australia, Statistical Highlights

  • It was the 1633rd ODI match in cricket history.

  • It was India's 447th and Australia's 466th match in ODI history.

  • It was the 62nd match between these two sides. The record now reads: India 23, Australia 36, no result 3.

  • Yuvraj Singh, playing his second match and first innings, scored his maiden ODI fifty. He opened his account with a four (off Ian Harvey) and his first three scoring shots were fours.

  • Yuvraj Singh now holds the record of playing the highest score for India in his first innings (not necessarily on debut). The previous record was in the name of Brijesh Patel who made 82 against England at Leeds on 13-07-1974 in India's first ever match.

  • At 18 years 300 days, Yuvraj is the second youngest to score an individual fifty for India after Sachin Tendulkar who made 53 against Sri Lanka at Pune on 05-12-1990 at the age of 17 years 225 days. The world record is held by Pakistan's Shahid Afridi when he made it at 16 years 217 days.

  • The catch of Vinod Kambli was 150th dismissal (130 catches and 20 stumpings) for Adam Gilchrist. He becomes second Australian and seventh wicketkeeper to do so. By reaching this target in his 99th match, Gilchrist now becomes the quickest to do so. The previous record was held by countryman Ian Healy who made his 150th dismissal in his 111th match.

  • Venkatesh Prasad hit the only ball he faced (bowled by Ian Harvey) for a six. He became only the second batsman in ODI history to hit a six in one ball innings. The only other batsman is Pakistan's Wasim Akram who hit a six off the bowling of Viv Richards against West Indies at Calcutta on 01-11-1989. Akram's six infact ended the match as Pakistan won the Nehru Cup.

  • Australia's total (245) is the sixth joint highest by a team in a one-day international without an individual fifty. It is also a new record for Australia. The highest such totals are:
    Highest Score

    261-8 (50) Pak v Ind, Perth 28-01-2000, Saeed Anwar 44

    257-8 (48) NZ v SA, Napier 25-02-1999, Adam Parore 44

    247 (55.5) Ind v Aus, Chelmsford 20-06-1983, Yashpal Sharma 40

    246-7 (50) Eng v Aus, Brisbane 16-12-1990, Phil DeFreitas 49*

    246 (47) WI v Aus, Bridgetown 13-03-1991, Jeff Dujon 40

    245 (48) Pak v SL, Karachi 13-02-2000, Aamir Sohail 47

    245 (46. 4) Aus v Ind, Nairobi Gym 07-10-2000, Ricky Ponting 46

    244-8 (45) NZ v Pak, Auckland 23-12-1985, Craig Spearman 48

  • Michael Bevan was run-out for the 14th time in his career and third time against India.

  • It is a strange coincidence that Australia has crashed out of both the ICC Knockout Tournaments - losing their first game to India.

  • Yuvraj Singh won his maiden Man of the Match award. He is the second youngest to win award for India after Sachin Tendulkar who was 17 years and 225 days old while winning his maiden award (v Sri Lanka at Pune on 05-12-1990).

  • Zaheer of Nairobi

    Back in 2000, he was at the centre of an image that has since become iconic for Indian fast bowling

  • Exuberance of youth takes India into semifinals

    The match fixing controversy necessitated the induction of a few talented youngsters into the Indian side, which made a whale of a difference at the Nairobi Gymkhana as the Indians beat the World champions Australia in the Quarter final of the ICC

  • 4th Match, ICC KnockOut, India v Australia, Statistical Highlights

    It was the 1633rd ODI match in cricket history

  • New boy Singh sets up India

    If Sachin Tendulkar provided the early excitement in the ICC KnockOut quarter-final match against Australia on Saturday, the second half of the innings belonged to Yuvraj Singh who hammered out 84 as India reached 266 for nine off their 50 overs

  • Regular wickets frustrate Indian aggression

    Sachin Tendulkar and Glenn McGrath went head-to-head as Australia's ICC KnockOut quarter-final against India got off to an enthralling start at the Nairobi Gymkhana Club on Saturday

ICC Champions Trophy (ICC KnockOut)

Group A
Group B