Player of the Match
Player of the Match

Dominant Scorchers complete easy win

Perth Scorchers 1 for 118 (Klinger 53*, Harris 36) beat Brisbane Heat 7 for 117 (Lynn 75*, Tye 3-23) by nine wickets

Perth Scorchers strangled the life out of Brisbane Heat to register a nine-wicket victory at the WACA Ground in the Boxing Day BBL match.

The visitors never established any momentum after losing Lendl Simmons in the first over of the game, maintaining a grim day for Caribbean cricketers after the travails of the West Indies at the MCG.

Perth's reputation as one of the BBL's most parsimonious bowling attacks was enhanced by their collective display in front of a crowd of 19,225 sun-kissed spectators.

Englishman David Willey led the line for the Scorchers, claiming 1 for 15 from four tight overs, including a maiden that featured the wicket of Jimmy Peirson. Willey won Man of the Match for his efforts.

Others also prospered - Jason Behrendorff claimed two victims on his return from injury, Brad Hogg was confusing as ever in claiming figures of 4-0-15-1, and Andrew Tye rounded off the attack with 3 for 23, the best analysis of all. Even Joel Paris, the only man not to take a wicket, produced plenty of quality in four overs that conceded a mere 25.

Chris Lynn was left to build the total more or less on his own, finishing with an unbeaten 58-ball 75, an innings that featured three fours and four sixes. Finding the boundary regularly but also working the ball around, Lynn was ultimately responsible for almost two thirds of the Heat's total, a burden to put others to shame.

Defending such a meagre tally, the Heat needed early wickets, but were thwarted by Marcus Harris and Michael Klinger. One Harris six was almost taken by Simmons, but otherwise the hosts careered towards the target.

When Lynn popped up again to catch Harris, Ashton Agar played soundly at No. 3, helping the vastly experienced Klinger to take the Scorchers home. Having suffered a chastening loss to the Strikers in game one and also after losing the services of the injured Nathan Coulter-Nile, the defending champions are now on the board.

Big Bash League