0.3 The third outswinger gets Rahane for a duck. Good length and curves away, closer to off, Rahane has a leaden-footed waft and nicks it behind to Ojha 0/1
    3.6 Usman Khawaja is caught short on the second. He is gone. Fractionally short on off, Khawaja pulls it towards deep midwicket. Hooda runs to his right, puts in a slide, and then fires a nice, flat throw to Ojha, who breaks the stumps 19/2
    11.6 Bailey steps out and holes out. He does not cash in. Waner pumps his fists. The bowler saw the batsman charge and dug it in short on off. Cross-seamer. Bailey pulled and sent a top edge to Nehra. He hangs onto the catch at deep midwicket 68/3
    13.2 an appeal for caught behind, concerted appeal. Umpire Gaffney asks the bowler and the keeper to clam down. He chats with umpire Sharma and refers it to the TV umpire. The soft signal is out. Clean catch from Ojha, diving to his left. Ashwin is gone for 29, his highest score in all IPLs. This was an innocuous full ball floated down leg. Ashwin aimed for a glance, and only tickled it behind. Ojha dived to his left and hung on to a one-handed low catch, plucked it inches from the turf. He picked up a one-handed stunner, diving to his right against Mumbai 78/4
    14.6 Tiwary top-edges one to Dhawan at midwicket. This is banged shorter, and outside off, he shapes to pull and ends up skying it to the fielder. The asking rate reads 10.40 86/5
    19.5 Yuvraj breaks the stumps. Dhoni has been run out on the second. Yuvraj sets off on a celebratory sprint. Warner is pumped. Is that the game? Hurrying bouncer on off, Dhoni is late to pull and gets a top edge over the keeper. Short third man (Sran) moves back and to his left and hunts the ball down. Dhoni comes back for the second. The ball is tagged to Yuvraj who runs towards the stumps from backward point. He dashes in and flips the bails off 133/7
    19.3 the pressure tells on Thisara. Length ball outside off, Thisara clears his front leg to possibly mow it over his favourite midwicket region. He skies it off a toe end instead. Henriques settles under it at extra cover 126/6
    not out
    19.6 Naman Ojha pulls off another one-handed catch! Zampa is out for a duck. SRH sneak through. Nehra has his hands aloft in joy. Zampa backed away outside leg, this is a yorker speared outside off, Zampa slashes and manages an outside edge. Ojha dives full-length to his right and completes another one-hander. A four could have resulted in a super over. T20 is a game of small margins. As is turns out, Sunrisers go top with this thriller. Supergiants have close to no chance of making the playoffs 133/8
    3 (lb 2, w 1)
    133/8 (20 Overs, RR: 6.65)
    Did not bat: AB Dinda, RP Singh
    Fall of wickets: 1-0 (AM Rahane, 0.3 ov), 2-19 (UT Khawaja, 3.6 ov), 3-68 (GJ Bailey, 11.6 ov), 4-78 (R Ashwin, 13.2 ov), 5-86 (SS Tiwary, 14.6 ov), 6-126 (NLTC Perera, 19.3 ov), 7-133 (MS Dhoni, 19.5 ov), 8-133 (A Zampa, 19.6 ov)
    B Kumar4.012015.00131110
    A Nehra4.002937.25124100
    BB Sran4.002616.50102100
    MC Henriques3.002016.6642000
    Yuvraj Singh1.0010010.0010100
    Mustafizur Rahman4.002606.5061000

Match Notes

Top bowling


No. of lower first-innings totals defended in this IPL than SRH's 137. KXIP had defended 154 vs GL.

Ashwin's best with bat


Previous highest score for R Ashwin in IPL - vs MI, 2015. He has gone past that score. His best in all T20s is 46, also for CSK, in CL T20 2013.

Slow starts


Runs scored by both teams in the Powerplays (SRH 34 and RPS 25), which is the lowest in a match in this IPL. RPS' 25 is the second-lowest by a team in this IPL.



No. of six-wicket hauls in IPL - 6 for 14 by Sohail Tanvir for RR vs CSK in 2008 and 6 for 19 by Zampa for RPS vs SRH today.

Not much from openers


Runs scored by SRH openers in this match - their second-lowest in this IPL. Warner and Dhawan had added only 19 runs vs KKR.

Failed both times


Warner's scores in the 2 matches vs RPS this IPL. He was dismissed by Dinda for a duck in Hyderabad and by RP Singh for 11 in Visakhapatnam.

Brave decision?


Win-loss record by the teams who won the toss and elected to bat first in this IPL, before this game. SRH have elected to bat first today.