Mahmudullah seals Central Zone win

Central Zone prevailed in a close contest against South Zone at the BKSP-3 ground. Mahmudullah's 12 wickets in the game, and Elias Sunny's three in the second innings, paved the way for a 37-run win, a complete turnaround after they conceded a first innings lead.

Set 310 to win, South Zone had swiftly moved to 159 for 3 on the third evening but had already lost Imrul Kayes and Anamul Haque. The pair added 113 runs for the second wicket, with Anamul making 67 and Imrul 74.

Overnight batsman Mithun Ali fell to Elias Sunny early on the fourth day before Shuvagata Hom and Taibur Rahman followed him back to the pavilion before lunch.

Only Ziaur Rahman struck 45 before the chase caved. South Zone were eventually bowled out for 272 runs.

It was an excellent comeback for Central Zone who were well led by Mahmudullah. He took seven in the first innings in addition to the five-for in the second innings.

Central Zone were bowled out for 165 runs on the first day, with South Zone's Sohag Gazi picking up four wickets and Abdur Razzak three. South Zone then took a 65-run lead when they were bowled out for 230 runs. Mithun Ali made 88 while Mahmudullah took seven wickets.

Central Zone then replied superbly, particularly Marshall Ayub, who scored 126, which is his eighth first-class ton. Razzak took four wickets in the second innings for South Zone.

The BCL will continue after the three international events in Bangladesh are over. The BCB have been planning to hold the National Cricket League, the division-based first-class tournament, from early next month.

South Z (BD) 4th innings Partnerships

1st31Anamul HaqueSoumya Sarkar
2nd113Imrul KayesAnamul Haque
3rd15Mohammad MithunAnamul Haque
4th8Mohammad MithunTaibur Rahman
5th14Taibur RahmanShuvagata Hom
6th27Ziaur RahmanTaibur Rahman
7th32Ziaur RahmanSohag Gazi
8th15Abdur RazzakZiaur Rahman
9th16Ziaur RahmanRubel Hossain
10th1Robiul IslamRubel Hossain