Jayampathi leads SSC to victory in final

Sinhalese Sports Club 278 for 9 (Kapugedera 70, Maharoof 3-38) beat Nondescripts Cricket Club 224 (Mubarak 55, Jayampathi 4-49) by 54 runs

Charith Jayampathi spearheaded Sinhalese Sports Club's (SSC) defence of a formidable total against Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC), taking four wickets to secure the Premier Limited Over Tournament title at the Premadasa Stadium.

Defending 278, Jayampathi knocked over NCC's openers inside seven overs, and then dismissed Sandun Weerakkudy to reduce them to 44 for 3. Jehan Mubarak steadied the chase with a half-century but he was run-out soon after the debutant Lahiru Udara was dismissed for 42, leaving NCC on 128 for 5. The lower order could not stage a fightback and NCC were dismissed for 224 in 45.1 overs. Jayampathi finished with figures of 4 for 49 in 10 overs.

SSC's match-winning total of 278 for 9 had been set up by a steady first-wicket stand of 69 and Chamara Kapugedera's 70 from No. 4. Debutant opener Vishva Wijeratne was the second highest contributor with 49. SSC, however, had slipped to 224 for 6 in the 44th over - when Kaushal Lokuarachchi was out obstructing the field - before Dhammika Prasad's 26 off 22 balls provided a brisk finish.

Badureliya 2nd innings Partnerships

1st57MDHD GunathillekeHC Halambage
2nd36AAAP DiasMDHD Gunathilleke
3rd48AD SolomonsMDHD Gunathilleke
4th26MDHD GunathillekeHL Moshin
5th1HL MoshinJ Premasinghe
6th23RJI UdayangaJ Premasinghe
7th11RJI UdayangaR Sharma