Sri Lanka tri-series 2010

Welegedara, Kandamby left out of tri-series

Cricinfo staff

August 7, 2010

Text size: A | A

Chamara Silva made only the second century of his List A career, Australia A v Sri Lanka A, 3rd unofficial ODI, Brisbane, July 10, 2010
Chamara Silva is back in Sri Lanka's ODI side © Getty Images
Related Links

Sri Lanka have left out left-arm seamer Chanaka Welegedara, allrounder Farveez Maharoof and batsman Thilina Kandamby for the tri-series, which begins on August 10 in Dambulla. Chamara Silva, who last played in the tri-series also involving India and Zimbabwe in May and June, makes a return, as does fast bowler Dilhara Fernando. Sri Lanka have also picked allrounder Thisara Perera, who was the leading wicket-taker in the one-day games on the A tour of Australia in June and July.

Muttiah Muralitharan, who recently retired from Tests, was rested, though he has made himself available for selection for the 2011 World Cup. Maharoof's omission is surprising because the allrounder impressed in the Asia Cup, taking a hat-trick during a five-wicket haul in the league match against India.

Silva, at one point, was a regular in Sri Lanka's middle order until a series of low scores cost him his place in the Asia Cup. Fernando played in the second Test against India at the SSC, while Perera represented Sri Lanka in 10 ODIs and was also part of the Chennai Super Kings squad in the IPL. The other participating teams in the tri-series are India and New Zealand and all the matches will be held in Dambulla.

Squad: Kumar Sangakkara (capt & wk), Mahela Jayawardene (vc), Chamara Silva, Thisara Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Email Feedback Print
ESPNcricinfo staffClose
News | Features Last 3 days
News | Features Last 3 days